Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was amazing! I used sweet potatoes and apples from my organic CSA veggie box and threw in a Bosc pear just cos I had one. I layered a bit of the pecan topping mixture in the middle so we could have pecans throughout the casserole. I layered everything in a medium round Pyrex and it was just the right size to fit this recipe. I'm going to make this another time for dessert and add a scoop of vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt on top -- it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frances g.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
VERY good!! I've made it for the last 2 Thanksgivings. I add some dried cranberries to the mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I love to make and serve this. It is the dish my family requests I bring to all holiday functions. Your family will LOVE this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I cut back to 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar mixed with the apples. On top I kept it to 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar and 2 Tablespoons of flour and 1 Tablespoon of butter. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this as directed and found it to be waayyy too sweet..did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne LeBlanc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Worth reading the reviews and "tweaking" accordingly. A dressy accompaniment to fairly plain pork and chicken dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Not sickening sweet like most sweet potato recipes. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this for my husband last night and he loved it! was stealing second helpings out of the casserole dish! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was a great recipe. The only difference that I had was that I baked my sweet potatoes skins on in the oven at 400 until they were soft, then peeled and cut them. I used a granny smith apple (all that I had in the house) and I think a sweeter apple would have been better. Everyone in the family loved it though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
MommyFromSeattle's suggestions make this one a keeper! Not overly sugary sweet like the other "sweet potatoe casseroles", yuck. This one rocks! Plus, I feel a little healthier eating it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trtlflwrs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States