Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I had previously rated this 3 stars. After having it again with 1/2 the ketchup mixture the texture was more like meatloaf and we really enjoyed it. The flavor is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I really liked this recipe and will certainly make it again. It was a bit mushy, next time I will try adding more bread crumbs maybe? Any ideas? But it had GREAT flavor. I used some canned yams and mashed them instead of cooking a sweet potato, that was a big time saver. For the leftovers I followed the advice in the original recipe and grilled thick slices in a pan with some butter. The leftovers were SO good, not so mushy as when it was first cooked. It lasted my husband and I over three meals, and is a great way to use ground turkey, which is so inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZA COOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
So Good! Reading the reviews did help. I used half of ketchup mixture in and half on top as suggested by someone and everyone in the family (3 year old included) loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I thought this was delicious and easy. I cooked the sweet potato in the microwave, then just scooped out the flesh and mashed it in. I left out the BBQ sauce altogether, and the meatloaf didn't come out mushy at all (as others mentioned). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I really liked this recipe, but I did change it a bit (I know, I know. Go ahead and curse silently at me.) Anyway, I used a pound of turkey and a pound of ground chicken. I used two eggs to make up for the extra meat, as well. I, too, did the half and half with the sauce - half in the mixture and half on top (although I didn't really measure anything.) I really liked it and it's even better the next day. Plus, the sweet potatoes make it a pretty color. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
OK! The texture is odd, but if you have cooked with ground turkey you know it is not like ground beef. I left out all the wet ingredient except maybe 3 tbs. of tomato sauce. I put a generous amount of ketchup on top along with shredded pepper jack cheese. I used 1 cup oats instead of bread and added half a green bell pepper chopped. I DID NOT whip the sweet potato, instead I cooled them down after boiling and just mushed everything together with my hands.It turned out great and my 2 year son and my husband both liked it. A great healthy alternative to beef meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I thought I'd try this recipe out for my family as meatloaf isn't ao popular in the UK. I made 1 minor change and that was to use Wholegrain mustard instead of Dijon as that was all I had. The meatloaf went down well. My 2 oldest kids adored it and the adults all thought it was delicious. My youngest son wasn't too impressed but he doesn't like sweet potatoes so that wasn't a suprise. The cold leftovers went in seconds as a fantastic sandwich filler. I found that the leftovers stayed together better as it was very moist when first cooked. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Shields, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This is a delicious meatloaf! My whole family loved it! I used 3 lbs of turkey because I have a big family so I needed to raise the temperature to 375. I only used one sweet potatoe and it gave just the right amount of flavor. I think that if I had gone by the recipe exactly and tripled everything it would have been way too much. I also left out the ketchup and put it on top instead, and I used Progresso breadcrumbs instead of slices of bread. I'm only giving this a 4 because I think the measurements need some revision. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Hmmm. What did I do wrong? The meatloaf came out more like a pate - slices would not hold together. This made the children verrrrry suspicious! Perhaps the size of the sweet potato makes a difference? Admittedly I used a pretty big sweet potato, but I didn't expect the consistency of *gulp* raw ground meat. All of this being said, the taste of the meatloaf was really quite good - even for those who don't love the taste of ground turkey. Maybe the original contributor of this recipe (or someone who's had success) could suggest a measured amount of sweet potato?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASIAKAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I thought this recipe was an interesting spin on traditional meatloaf. I just used plain bread crumbs that you buy in the store and kept adding more until the meat didn't feel too moist. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodsavvyRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States