Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good, will make it again. only change was to use 1/3c total bbq+ketchup and 1/3cup breadcrumbs instead of actual bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
A really tasty, healthy alternative to regular meatloaf! Will definitely make again. I didn't have honey bbq sauce so I used original and I used honey mustard (about 1 tbsp) instead of dijon mustard. Also, I did have to use more bread crumbs. I agree with others though and add a little ketchup to the mix but mainly to the top! It keeps it from getting too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This my just be my new favorite meatloaf recipe. It was wonderful. Moist--not greasy at all which some meat loaf can be. I am making it tonight for the second time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is the only meatloaf I've ever had that I liked (I don't care for beef but I've tried other recipes for turkey meatloaf). My beef-loving husband likes it and even my mom, who won't eat turkey burgers any more because "it's just too much meat", adores this recipe. To save some time and dirtying a pot I just poke some holes in the sweet potato with a fork, microwave it and then scoop the cooked flesh out of the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
too sweet, definitley needed more bread, it is a little too moist. I am going to keep it divided and frozen as a healthy protien for my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I found this recipe by using the 'ingredients' option and gave it a try last night. I did make a couple minor alterations to suit our tastes. I sauteed the onion and garlic gently until translucent before adding to the loaf mix (hubby dislikes finding semi-raw onion in his meatloaf), and I left much of the sweet potato in small chunks. The resulting slices, while soft due to the natural texture of turkey were lovely - studded with golden nuggets of sweet potato. Hubby, whose appetite has been difficult to entice due to health issues, ate every bite and congratulated me on finding such a delightful recipe ;-) I served it with a simple side - canned green beans, mostly drained, added to sauteed garlic with Italian spice mix. The tang contrasted nicely with the sweetness of the loaf. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slywlf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shandaken, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Totally love this recipe!!! The only thing different I did was substitute reg bread crumbs in for the bread and took the other reviewers suggestion and put half the ketchup mixture on top and it was amazing! Even my three yr old, who is quite possibly the pickiest eater ever, liked it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I really liked this recipe, but I did change it a bit (I know, I know. Go ahead and curse silently at me.) Anyway, I used a pound of turkey and a pound of ground chicken. I used two eggs to make up for the extra meat, as well. I, too, did the half and half with the sauce - half in the mixture and half on top (although I didn't really measure anything.) I really liked it and it's even better the next day. Plus, the sweet potatoes make it a pretty color. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Ellen H
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I changed this recipe and it came out AMAZINGLY well the first time. I have a sensitivity (bad things happen) to garlic/onions, so left them out. I used 1 lb turkey, 1 med-lg sweet potato, one egg, one cup oats, 1/2 orange pepper, 2 stalks celery, 1 tsp ketchup, 1 tsp dijon mustard, 2 tsp bbq sauce with more on top prior to baking. No added salt and a healthy amount of fresh ground pepper. KEY moves here were to cook potato in microwave for 6-7 min, then scoop it out, combine it w/egg, oats, turkey, veggies... brushed KC Masterpiece bbq sauce on top, then baked for 1 hr, 20 min at 350, let sit for 20 min in pan prior to slicing and it sliced perfectly... Not wet like others here have mentioned. Stayed together... Taste and consistency were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen H
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
We didn't care for the texture or the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States