Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I thought it was great and the kids didn't know any better (they hate sweet potatoes). I only had a 1/2 pound of turkey, so I used a 1/2 pound of extra lean ground beef in it. And I didn't put the ketchup in it, just on it. It wasn't runny, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I thought this was delicious and easy. I cooked the sweet potato in the microwave, then just scooped out the flesh and mashed it in. I left out the BBQ sauce altogether, and the meatloaf didn't come out mushy at all (as others mentioned). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I really liked this recipe and will certainly make it again. It was a bit mushy, next time I will try adding more bread crumbs maybe? Any ideas? But it had GREAT flavor. I used some canned yams and mashed them instead of cooking a sweet potato, that was a big time saver. For the leftovers I followed the advice in the original recipe and grilled thick slices in a pan with some butter. The leftovers were SO good, not so mushy as when it was first cooked. It lasted my husband and I over three meals, and is a great way to use ground turkey, which is so inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZA COOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
we made 2 loaves since the reviews were so good. i don't eat red meat and my boyfriend loves meatloaf. definitely a great compromise. i used light bbq sauce and one egg white and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I really liked this meatloaf! I really needed a new way to cook ground turkey,one of our staples and this is it! I loved the texture the potato provided although I had to use a regular instead of sweet, will fix that next time. It didn't slice well otherwise it would be a five star rating. It did slice much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was horrible. The texture was like dog food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
oh. my. gosh. This recipe is so unbelievably delicious! I don't like meatloaf, but I decided to try this for some reason and it was so favorful and moist. The ONLY thing I did differently, based on the reveiws is I used half the ketchup and BBQ sauce that they called for in the meatloaf mix and half on the top before I baked it. Seriously - make at least two. You'll have one for dinner, some for leftovers for lunch the next day and then more for meatloaf sandwiches the next night (throw it on some toast). Perfect recipe. I've already passed this on to everyone I know! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
We don't like ketchup, so we left that out, and I used spicy bbq sauce instead of honey bbq sauce, since that's what we had on hand and it turned out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was sooooooo yummy! And the leftovers were awesome cold! We got about 6 servings out of it because we served it with salad and other yummies...Next time I'm going to try cooking it in one of those meatloaf pans that allow the extra juices drain, because it was really juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Great flavor, but WAAAAY too salty. Less salt and pepper, but this recipe has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States