Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
The taste was good, but the texture was completely off-putting. I did half of the BBQ sauce & ketchup in the mix & half on top, but did not add more bread as suggested by previous reviews. Big mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Pagh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Really enjoyed this tonight. Of course some modifications, but I used her basic idea of the turkey meat, plus the sweet potato as part of the end result! Did not use a full T of pepper or salt! Added fresh basil & fresh parsley, had red & yellow peppers to use up, did not use a lot of ketchup or BBQ sauce inside of loaf. Baked it until about 1/2 way done, basted out the excess pan juices, added ketchup & brown sugar on top! Baked it about an hour total time, then broiled when done to caramelize the topping. Loved it! Sweet potato in it was great, I used a small one for 2 lbs turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Delivers what you'd expect from the title--nothing relevatory, but not a disappointment either. I put half the mustard/ketchup/BBQ on top, at the advice of other reviewers, and substituted 3/4c bread crumbs for the whole wheat bread, which I didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I had to improvise: Skipped the onion and used bread crumbs instead of the sliced bread. Still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My 4 year old ate it and it is healthy! I used Italian bread crumbs halved the ketchup sauce half in and half on top and cooked on 400 for 25 minutes using my cupcake pan! Husband was impressed. Has a crab cake consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I took many suggestions from the other reviews and LOVED this recipe! Half the ketchup/BBQ sauce mixture in the meatloaf, half on top. 3 pieces of whole what bread instead of 2. Also added approx 1 TBS of dried rosemary (coincidentally homegrown). Next time I want to try some chopped green pepper also. Will definitely be making this again and suggesting this recipe to family and friends. Thanks Mrs. Mula-Howard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This meatloaf was a little soft, but still held shape okay. We baked the sweet potato before mashing and used part of the bbq/ketchup sauce on top, as well as mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It was really yummy. I followed other reviewers advice and only added half the mustard/bbq sauce to the meat mixture, and put the other half on top. It worked out perfectly. I also microwaved the potato instead of boiling and I think that helped with the "wetness" other reviewers mentioned. Really good taste. The sauce on top was sort of sweet which complimented the savory meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Always looking for meatloaf recipe variations. Thanks for the base. I took a few short cuts, as I didn't have time to boil the sweet potato. I popped it the micro and then mashed to cool off for a bit. I also reduced the ketchup and didn't add bbq. I only had shallots, so didn't add as much, but also included some dried onions. Other than that...it was the same. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Sooo good! But I chopped my sweet potato into. Small cubes and panfried like hashbrowns with a little coconut oil and half of a large red onion also chopped fine. I also topped the meatloaf with a mixture of the honey barbecue, ketchup, Dijon mustard, and two large tablespoons of Chinese mustard for a kick. Really good the next day lightly panfried and placed on 100 cal wheat bread round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States