Sweet Potato Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Although the final result was a very tasty dish, the directions leave a lot to the imagination in terms of preparation. Even the reviews didn't help me. I didn't know just what size sweet potatoes to get. And I wanted to use canned, so I didn't know how much to buy. I took a guess and used the largest can I could find -- about 35 oz or so. There was no direction about combining the ingredients. I wound up using a hand mixer on the potatoes and banana, but next time I'll use the food processor. I agree with the other reviews -- the dish is very sweet, so the sugars can probably be cut. The banana is a great addition and adds a wonderful flavor and texture. But for the amount of sweet potato I used, the banana was too overwhelming, so next time I'll use more sweet potato. This is the kind of recipe you can adjust to your own tastes. More nuts or less nuts or even no nuts, for example. Same with the coconut. But overall a good dish that we all liked as a change to the traditional sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Very Sweet. I agree with the previous reviewer that says...this might be more suitable for a dessert rather than a veggie side dish. Still very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I totally agree with other reviewers; it called for too much sugar. I used only half of the amount of sugars. The direction might be needed more in detail, for I didn't know what to do with the bananas (mashed or just sliced?). It tasted good, though. Can't stop eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This was good but there are so many sweet ingredients in this recipe, it really overwhelmed my tastebuds! I think it qualifies more as a dessert than a vegetable sidedish. Thanks, Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
The flavors in this recipe are very strong, but still very good. I made it for a work pitch-in, and everyone was guessing what the secret ingredient was! I used some large sweet potatoes, and nixed the coconut, nuts, and nutmeg, but it still turned out well! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I didn't use the white sugar at all. I also used 7 sweet potatoes, and 3 tbsp butter :) And No coconut because I didn't have any. I think these proportions fit best with it being a side-dish, so it doesn't compete with the pies! I whipped it all in the foodprocessor and added marshmallows last. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Took others advice didn't add white sugar, used twice as many potatoes, everything else the same and it was still a strong banana flavor. Next time (and I will make it again!) I'll use only one banana. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
A huge hit for both Thanksgiving and Christmas, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States