Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is a tasty, easy soup to make. I did alterate a bit - I omitted the turnip (didn't have one), used 1% milk instead of cream and added 2 T additional butter, doubled the brown sugar and cut down considerably on the nutmeg (personal preferance), maybe used 1/4 tsp. I also added some mini marshmallows while the soup was in my bowl and let them melt...mmm,mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Yum. Didn't have white potatoes so I used 4 yams. Didn't have a turnip either so I made it without. Used butter instead of margarine. But it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very very good. Minor adjustments to my own personal taste but an excellent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Severed this before Thanksgiving dinner. Some people were skeptical of this soup-but everyone loved it. Best if served with biscuits or french bread. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
good, but this calls for Way too much nutmeg! I would use half the ammount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wonderful! I also thought the turnip flavor was a bit too heavy! I willl add 1/2 next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was delicious! I replaced the turnip with one diced onion and a little garlic. I used a tablespoon of maple syrup and a bit of brown sugar. I otherwise followed as it, but before serving I diced up some ham in fine cubes and topped the soup with ham. It was fantastic and got rave reviews from the company I had over. The salt of the ham with the sweetness of the soup was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup was super easy to make. I tasted it before I put in any spices and thought it was good. Then I put the nutmeg (used 1/3 of the amount cause I was worried about it) in and it all went down hill from there. I have used nutmeg in other things, usually baking, but in this it just didn't work for me. I ended up putting in some cinnamon, and 3 times the sugar just to get it to a point where it was edible for me. If I try this again I think I'll try carrot instead of turnip and leave out the nutmeg entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was pretty good. I think it was too much nutmeg. Next time I'd use about half the amount. I also would add an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Yum! I just made this soup, using what I had on hand. I only used about 1/2 cup chopped turnip and subbed carrots for the regular potatoes. Had to use maple syrup in place of the sugar and used milk instead of cream. Oh, and I also used less nutmeg, as mine is strong. This was TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States