Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Yum. Didn't have white potatoes so I used 4 yams. Didn't have a turnip either so I made it without. Used butter instead of margarine. But it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very very good. Minor adjustments to my own personal taste but an excellent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Severed this before Thanksgiving dinner. Some people were skeptical of this soup-but everyone loved it. Best if served with biscuits or french bread. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
good, but this calls for Way too much nutmeg! I would use half the ammount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wonderful! I also thought the turnip flavor was a bit too heavy! I willl add 1/2 next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was delicious! I replaced the turnip with one diced onion and a little garlic. I used a tablespoon of maple syrup and a bit of brown sugar. I otherwise followed as it, but before serving I diced up some ham in fine cubes and topped the soup with ham. It was fantastic and got rave reviews from the company I had over. The salt of the ham with the sweetness of the soup was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This soup was super easy to make. I tasted it before I put in any spices and thought it was good. Then I put the nutmeg (used 1/3 of the amount cause I was worried about it) in and it all went down hill from there. I have used nutmeg in other things, usually baking, but in this it just didn't work for me. I ended up putting in some cinnamon, and 3 times the sugar just to get it to a point where it was edible for me. If I try this again I think I'll try carrot instead of turnip and leave out the nutmeg entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was pretty good. I think it was too much nutmeg. Next time I'd use about half the amount. I also would add an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Yum! I just made this soup, using what I had on hand. I only used about 1/2 cup chopped turnip and subbed carrots for the regular potatoes. Had to use maple syrup in place of the sugar and used milk instead of cream. Oh, and I also used less nutmeg, as mine is strong. This was TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
After having a soup like this the other day in a restaurant I went searching for one that was similar to make. I found this one. It was a success and definitely one I will make again and again. Smooth, creamy. I did make a few changes, I added nutmeg pinch by pinch to taste as some others said it was too much. I also added a dash of cinnamon. I also put a bit more cream. Basically the spices are a personal preference. Thumbs up to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States