Sweet Potato Souffle III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I think this is a really good recipe...but, I would improve on it by simply separating my egg yolks and whites. Then, I would add the yolks in with the other ingredients while mixing. Next comes the main difference - beat the egg whites until stiff ( not dry ), and gently fold them into the sweet potato mixture. Bake immediately after topping. Add marshmallows the last 15 minutes of baking. ( Do not open oven while baking and handle casserole carefully as this is truly a souffle with the eggs added this way. ) I KNOW you will love it prepared in this manner. Enjoy! Barbara / Fountain Inn, SC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This turned out very well indeed! A few things I tweaked were: used evaporated milk instead of regular milk, I used brown sugar instead of white sugar in the sweet potato mix (and used a bit less than a full cup), and I seasoned it up with a good dose of cinnamon, nutmeg, and all spice. I think I'll use even less sugar in the sweet potatoes next time because it really doesn't need it. But this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe is great I only used 3 large sweet potatoes, as my family is small. I also used an electric mixer to make sure everything was smooth. I feel like a pro when I make this. I also baked the sweet potatoes wrapped in foil with butter in the oven for about half an hour each side. I don't care for recipes that call for boiling vegetables in water. When these came out of the oven I was able to gently slice down the length of the potato and the skin came off very smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I thought this recipe is more for a casserole type of dish, not a souffle. Also, the recipe is much too sweet. It was so sweet, no one during Thanksgiving dinner could finish their serving. It was sweeter than the pumpkin pie and apple pie we had for dessert! I think it would be much better if the recipe called for half the sugar, and reduce the amount of the brown sugar & pecan topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I like this an all except I felt like the directions are kind of unclear. I mean Sweet Potatoes are huge. And I supose I should have just used 3 potatoes to give me 6 c. Instead I used 6 potatoes and had more than 12 c. of mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I have used this recipe every Thanksgiving/Christmas for the last 5yrs. and it's ALWAYS a hit!!! I use one large can of sweet potatoes in leu of cooking them myself and use hazelnut coffe creamer in leu of regular milk... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsland, Texas, USA
Living In: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is soooo good! It tastes just like the Honeybaked Ham store's version of this, and it is a third of the cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
VERY good - LOVED the topping and I was asked by 2 people at Thanksgiving for the recipe. I made this the night before, baked it the next day, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Great recipe. I used evaporated milk instead because that was all I had -- made it nice a creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and everybody loved it. People who had never liked sweet potatoes said they actually loved this dish!!! I followed the recipe without variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States