Sweet Potato Souffle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Didn't like it at all. I tasted more like a dessert than a side dish. I always love sweet potato but perhaps this recipe used too much sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Always a HIT! out of the parents, in-laws, my self, my hubby & our 5 kids only 1 kid likes sweet potatoes. However, when I make this all but 1 eat it. Always requested at holidays, always eaten. FABULOUS RECIPE! And EASY than it looks! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This recipe has made me the superstar of Thanksgiving – people wait for this to arrive. Up until I had this dish I had never encountered a sweet potato side that I actually liked! The flaked coconut addition really makes this dish unique and TDF. I do make some modifications to this recipe to cater it more to my own personal tastes – I reduce the white sugar to ¼ c. otherwise this dish is way too overwhelmingly sweet, I also reduce the butter in the soufflé to ¼ c. and the butter in the topping to ¼ c., I add cinnamon and nutmeg to the soufflé mix, and I substitute pecans for walnuts in the topping. Thank you so much Ricki for proving that sweet potatoes can taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Loved it! It should be dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Delicious and easy. I loved the addition of coconut. A great change-up for sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was very good, and very sweet. Keep the potatos firm. Otherwise they mush under the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very nice! Perfect for my Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This had a very good flavor, I think I may have done something wrong though, it didn't have the texture I thought it would. It was somewhat runny. I did use canned sweet potatoes so that may have been why, but I drained them very well. I will try this again using baked sweet potatoes. Otherwise, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
AWESOME! Very easy to make and it tasted like dessert. The combination of spices was perfect. I almost left the coconut off because my husband doesn't like coconut, but that is what really makes the dish! He loved it even with the coconut. I will definitely make this again for holidays and special meals. This time I made it for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Made this for three different Christmas/New Year's potlucks. People love it. Peeled, cubed and boiled sweet potatoes about 15 minutes, then mashed well with potato masher. Substituted demerara sugar for brown, pecans for walnuts (we are in the South), added cinnamon and nutmeg to mixture as well as topping, used straight evaporated milk for milk. This went immediately into the Recipe Box. This will be our standby. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States