Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This rolls are delicious. You can not taste the sweet potato at all which is neither good or bad, its just what it is. They taste like a good quality sweet dinner roll. I liked them best hot with jam on them! I used coconut oil in replace of the margarine (I never ever use margarine...yuck!). I also used fresh sweet potato steamed in the microwave. Made these rolls in the bread machine then cooked in the oven. I did NOT have to add any more liquid or flour to make it work in the bread machine which was nice. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJN Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
These turned out very dense. They tasted good, but weren't really what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this because I saw that some reviews said they used leftover mashed sweet potatoes. They turned out so delicious, I am making more as we speak. My youngest daughter and myself love them and will make them whenever I have leftover sweet potatoes. We have them when they are warm with butter and we have reheated them and put butter and cinnamon sugar on them. Both ways are just so wonderful. I even have doubled the batch this time to be able to freeze them for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made these today (Easter 2012) and they were delicious! The only change I made was to use 2 T brown sugar and 2 T white sugar. I think the reason the dough is so sticky for some is that they use too much sweet potato puree. Stick to the original recipe which calls for 1/2 cup and you will be fine. I also used my KA mixer with the dough hooks and eliminated the kneeding. Made 2 pans of 10 each. Be sure to brush with butter while hot and they will be great. Mine looked just like the pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These made a delicious sidedish to our Easter turkey dinner. Just a hint of sweetness. I boiled and mashed sweet potatoes and set the potato water aside for use as the liquid in this recipe. I made the dough in my bread machine, which worked out well. I then divided the dough up into 54 balls (18 x 3), in order to form "clover leaf rolls" by placing three small dough balls together in a greased muffin tin. I allowed them to rise another hour before baking for 12 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
So far, it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Really just did not have the flavor I was expecting from these. I did not change anything and just didnt turn out like I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My first attempt at made from scratch, knead your own dough, rolls. LadySparkle suggested this recipe for me try. The taste is wonderful, but I have a long way to go to learn to make nice smooth rolls. The sweet potato added a nice taste and a very pretty color to this roll. I made several batches to try and get a smooth finish. Each batch was better than the batch before, but I'm not there yet. I dried the "ugly" ones to use as bread crumbs. The crumbs were wonderful on AR "Cauliflower Romaine Salad" and I used them on some baked chicken. Thanks SHERLIE for sharing your recipe. I will be making again as my family and extended loved the taste. Thanks also to LadySparkle for the suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Wonderful, tender rolls. Used them for pulled pork sliders, great way to sneak a little healthy veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchanner
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Loved the taste and experience of making bread. I cooked mine a little too long but that was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States