Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I used fresh cooked sweet potatoes instead of canned. Absolutely fabulous rolls! Ate them with some Honeybaked Ham for breakfast. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
My family LOVED these! I had leftover cans of sweet potatoes and my kids were sick of sweet potato casserole... I tried these rolls and they've been requested again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Interesting concept, but I didn't like these because they were dry and slightly crumbly. If you are going to take the time to make your own rolls, keep looking - and this from someone who has made a lot of breads and rolls over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I loved these rolls. The texture is so tender, and they have a delicate flavor--not too sweet. I had 3 small sweet potatoes, so I cooked & mashed those instead of canned. I tried something different--I subbed eggnog for the water and took a tip from EVILBEE and used brown sugar and about 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I did add another three cups of flour (1/2 cup of WW) and still had to keep my finger tips floured while pinching off the dough. I got 27 nice sized rolls and a loaf of bread! Great idea for dinner rolls, Sherlie--thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These are amazing! I made these yesterday (the day before Thanksgiving) and they still tasted wonderful and weren't dried out for today. I used one whole egg and 2 yolks to give them a nice yellow color in addition to the sweet potato and they were beautiful. My only complaint was that the dough was VERY sticky to work with. I ended up using about 6 cups of flour to the whole recipe, and the dough was still incredibly difficult to work with and shape into rolls. I ended up just dropping lumps of dough into the pan and baking them. They still came out great, and I got 3 dozen dinner sized rolls from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
These rolls are wonderful and so easy to make.I usually don't have very good luck with yeast rolls,but these were a breeze.I used 1 can of sweet potatoes and 1 left over baked.I would like to try them with whole wheat flour next time,which will be in a few days(that's what I've been told) lol.Again,great rolls! Ya gotta try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glasgow, Missouri, USA
Living In: Galmey, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this in my bread machine. The only change I made was 3 Tbsp brown sugar and 1 Tbsp white, and I added 1 tsp. ground nutmeg. I used sweet potaots I grew in my garden. I think those who said they were not as orange colored as they anticipated maybe used canned sweet potatos. Mine were very orange, absolutely gorgeous! I served with honey butter. This is a wonderful recipe and a great use for sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Delish. I will definately use these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Everyone said it was a success. I used much more flour than called for like everyone else. I made small rolls for my son and it made about 3 dozen. My 3yo absolutely loves these rolls and nearly ate half of them over the weekend. They have the slightest hint of sweet potato, I wish there was more but it still is wonderful. Will definitely be making again and again. Thaks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
My daughter's nutritionist suggested I make my daughter breads with vegetables. While "sweet potato" is not a vegetable I liked the nutritional value. I used three jars of baby food sweet potatoes and 3 total Tbsp of honey instead of sugar. Required about 3/4 cup flour more for the right consistency. Allowed to rise in muffin tins. Came out great. Will make again. Next time will use real mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States