Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I bought some Okinawan purple sweet potatoes at my local Asian store, and some red garnet yams from the supermarket. I made one batch of purple and one of orange dough, adding an extra 1/2 cup of puree per batch, then alternated them in the same pan. I also substituted pancake syrup for the white sugar, to give it a light maple flavor. The rolls were soft and rich, with enough substance to serve with breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American Valkyrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
If you want a faster prep time, read on! I used a one-rise method for this recipe, using instant yeast (1 1/2 tsp) instead of active dry yeast. Here's how I did it. I scalded 1/2 cup milk (instead of the water), added COLD margarine and sugar to cool it down, added the yeast, sweet potatoes, and 2 cups flour (next time I'll use only 1) to form a sponge. I mixed this for 5 minutes, then let it rest for 5 minutes. After it was done resting, I added the eggs and the salt and then added flour to make a soft dough. I kneaded it for 7-8 minutes and then made it immediately into rolls. I let those raise to double, and then baked them. The one-rise method is a ton faster, and the results were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Perfect~! Love the rolls!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Because I did not have winter squash on hand, I used Trader Joe's organic canned pumpkin. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the cooked squash, melted butter (which I used instead of margerine), eggs and all the dry ingredients. I did need just a touch more flour than the recipe stated to get it to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook, a little over half of a cup. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or more, adding more flour when the dough would stick to the bottom of the mixer bowl (which it did because the dough was rather sticky). I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll?), covered them and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was absolutely perfect. HUGE dinner rolls that were soft, fluffy and absolutely wonderful. What a fantastic recipe--so fun to make and the dough couldn't have been easier to work with and the flavor was like an expensive brioche! Another winner from Sherlie--I'm so tickled. Thanks so much for sharing both your wonderful roll recipes! NOTE: I got twelve rolls out of one recipe but they were BIG ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teenbaker4life
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
this was a great recipe :) but what you want to make sure that you do is to bake it in a 9x13 inch pan! we made the mistake of baking it in an 8x8 pan. They turned out yummy, but they were a little odd shaped :) still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenbaker4life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were excellent!! Probably one of the best rolls I have had! They were light & fluffy and I enjoyed the suttle sweet potato flavor. It adds a natural sweetness that makes it so you don't need as much sugar and at the same time, not too sweet. I made these twice already. I used some fresh sweet potatoes that I had cooked, the first time I pureed them, which took a lot of liquid, so I ended up needing to add ~2extra cups of flower. I had also followed someone suggestion of adding 1tsp of nutmeg. They turned out good and the nutmeg gave it an eggnog type flavor, which my husband loved. The second time I just mashed the sweet potato after cooking it and left out the nutmeg. Then the flower called for was about right, I only needed about 1/4-1/2 C extra. I loved the flavor!!!! They taste great with jam, other dishes, or all by itself!! Will definitely add to my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Just tried this recipe, very good! I only made half a recipe to use up some left over cooked sweet potato. It is a sticky dough but I just patted it out and scooped with a floured ice cream scoop and plopped it in the pan. Baled @350 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaFaMi
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. The rolls are soft and lovely. I added 1/2 teaspoon of bread softener and piped some custard on top of the rolls before putting them into the oven, to give a lovelier taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaFaMi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe! They were delicious! I love that I am able to sneak some vegetables in through the sweet potato and my husband doesn't even know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by victoria
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I use Purple sweet potatoes instead of canned sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States