Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These rolls were very good, but they didn't have a very strong taste of sweet potato. Everyone who had one loved them. I did not use canned sweet potato, I used sweet potatoes that I cooked in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit. My husband who doesn't usually like rolls really loved these and other family memebers really raved. I thought they were pretty good but I'm giving them 5 stars based on my family memebers response. I baked one whole sweet potato and mashed it and that instead of the canned and brushed meted butter on top after they baked. These were a great addition to the holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
OMG . . .I made these rolls for Thanksgiving, and I know the Recipe said you could make @ least 16 balls but instead i made two pans about 6 medium size in each pan and my family ate the first pan before we even started having dinner so they've ask me to make them for Christmas dinner! Btw I made some honey butter for them to put on the rolls, they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoBear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Even with my very limited experience with yeast dough, these came out very well! Very light and fluffy. I did use fresh sweet potatoes and I added about 1/4 cup more to the dough. They still did not really taste like sweet potato at all. The dough was very easy to work with, I did add a bit more flour. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wow---these were phenomenal! I used 1 T brown sugar and 3T white sugar. I used less flour (by accident) and the dough was relatively sticky. I also used fresh yams. They turned out so tender and fluffy. My guy said they were definitely restaurant quality. They were the hit of the Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made these for Thanksgiving tomorrow. The sweet potato flavor is subtle, but still recognizable. Nice dinner rolls with light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe. I used a fresh yam I baked in the oven and made two loaves of bread instead of rolls. Worked out very well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good. Even the leftovers were soft and fluffy a couple of days later. I put the ingredients in my bread machine, and brushed an egg wash on top before baking. I used mashed baked yam instead of sweet potato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I changed a few things: I used safflower oil instead of butter, used half whole wheat flour, subbed brown sugar and molasses for the white sugar, and used just a bit more mashed sweet potato. Despite all this, they were still great. Half were made into dinner rolls while the other half was used as a base for cinnamon rolls. As mentioned more than a few times, they don't really taste like sweet potato, but they were still tasty, fluffy, and moist. I think I'll add a wee bit more salt next time, as they were just a bit flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I am a beginner at bread making and these rolls came about wonderful!!! I will be making these again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States