Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wow---these were phenomenal! I used 1 T brown sugar and 3T white sugar. I used less flour (by accident) and the dough was relatively sticky. I also used fresh yams. They turned out so tender and fluffy. My guy said they were definitely restaurant quality. They were the hit of the Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made these for Thanksgiving tomorrow. The sweet potato flavor is subtle, but still recognizable. Nice dinner rolls with light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe. I used a fresh yam I baked in the oven and made two loaves of bread instead of rolls. Worked out very well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good. Even the leftovers were soft and fluffy a couple of days later. I put the ingredients in my bread machine, and brushed an egg wash on top before baking. I used mashed baked yam instead of sweet potato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I changed a few things: I used safflower oil instead of butter, used half whole wheat flour, subbed brown sugar and molasses for the white sugar, and used just a bit more mashed sweet potato. Despite all this, they were still great. Half were made into dinner rolls while the other half was used as a base for cinnamon rolls. As mentioned more than a few times, they don't really taste like sweet potato, but they were still tasty, fluffy, and moist. I think I'll add a wee bit more salt next time, as they were just a bit flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I am a beginner at bread making and these rolls came about wonderful!!! I will be making these again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I really liked these, but they did not get the rave reviews expected. (I guess you have to like sweet potatoes.) I thought they were a perfect accompaniment for a pork chop dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
These rolls were fantastic!! I used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar in the bread recipe and allowed the kitchen aide mixer to knead adding another 1/2 cup of flour not allowing it to stick to the bottom. I think these are a must for Thanksgiving with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
My husband even liked these!! good way to change things up at dinner (or lunch or breakfast!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Fantastic! I used this dough for cinnamon rolls, and I'll deffinatly use it again. Then to really go over the top I took the leftovers and made french toast out of it and topped it with raisin syrup (1 c. raisins boiled in 1 1/2 c. water a touch of cinnamon and puree). My mouth is watering just thinking about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States