Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
The vegetable smuggler strikes again! I used 2 LARGE sweet potatoes that I cooked and mashed. I also used whole wheat flour. My children gobbled them down. I have NEVER gotten them to eat sweet potatoes. A great way to disguise a high vitamin content veggie! These rolls freeze wonderfully. I would also highly recommend the pumpkin chocolate chip cookies! Great recipes! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I agree this roll is good with soups and stews, but it really does need more flavor to stand alone. I read some reviews and increased the sweet potatoes but my husband and I could barely note it. I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was very good when we drenched it in gravy. I will make this again because I do like the texture and it goes great with soup, but will alter it a bit to suit my palate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaprem Proeung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
These came out really good! my boyfriend is a picky eater and he enjoyed them as well. I followed the directions almost exactly. The only changes I made was add about 2 tbs of brown sugar to the mix and I also sprinkled the tops of the biscuits with butter and brown sugar before baking. I will defiantly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe was very easy. I brushed rolls with melted butter before baking and after baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Followed recipe as written except that I used freshly baked sweet potatoes and used the bread machine to make dough. These are the best rolls I've made! Beautiful texture, color and delicious:) Make now, bake later: Make the dough and form the rolls placing them on the baking pan. Put the pan into the freezer and when frozen, put the frozen dough balls into a ziplock bag and then put them back into the freezer (they won't stick to each other) When you want a couple of rolls for dinner, take the dough rolls from freezer and place on cookie sheet. Put the pan inside a clear plastic bag until they have thawed and then risen about double in size and bake as per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made a double batch and froze half. Really glad I did. Made the mistake of making the day before and setting in fridge as formed rolls. They rose right out of the pan! Had to bake a little longer since they were so big. These were lightly sweet and very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asmaa
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe a lots of times, the result is fabulous wonderful sweet bread, but make sure to let it rest enough time to rise, the only thing i do sometime is add 1 TBS of sugar as I like it sweet, and recently I substitute the regular sweet potato with purple sweet potato, and yes it does work perfect and my kids were so happy and excited to see a natural colored bread ! Defiantly a keeper .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I used slightly more fresh sweet potato, a heaping 1/2 cup I'd say. I also used 1/4 cup brown sugar as another reviewer suggested. These were great! Oh, I also added cinnamon and cloves and possibly ginger, 1/4 tsp each. They were delicious smelling and tasty! I think the spices bring out the flavor of the sweet potato. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made these for the first time today. Recipe is super easy and the rolls came out very fluffy. BUT, not a huge amount of sweet potato flavor even though I used fresh sweet potatoes. I think next time I'll add about a 1/4 cup more and see what that gives me for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. I use leftover sweet potatoes and follow the recipe exactly and the rolls turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States