Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made these using fresh mashed sweet potato. I also used half whole wheat flour (I need four cups of flour total). They turned out nice and fluffy, but I didn't find there was much sweet potato flavour, or a lot of flavour period for that matter. I will try again and add more sweet potato and some cinnamon and nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These were super good! I used 2 roasted, mashed sweet potatoes instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were great! I made them for little leftover turkey sanwiches :) The only change I made was to use fresh sweet potato puree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These rolls were fluffy but filling. The sweet potato didn't add an overpowering flavor, which we liked. I am a novice bread maker, so I was afraid to add too much extra flour to the dough and, as a result, shaping my rolls was very difficult and they did not look very pretty in the end. Next time I will not be so timid with the extra flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I did not do a good job of following the directions on this and they still turned out great. I had so much going on that I let the dough rise overnight and then after I rolled it into balls it sat so long that they way more than doubled in side and I kept trying to "punch them down" to keep them from completely blowing up. The dough was also really sticky and I was really not counting on much...they baked beautifully though and we loved them. My kids (3 and 5) really love them. If I did that much wrong and the still tasted good, I'm impressed! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very good dinner roll, however I used a real mashed sweet potato and the roll wasn't very sweet. Next time I will use a sweet yam instead and maybe go with some brown sugar and a little spice. Still a good roll though and this was my first time making a yeast roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
So easy, I did add 1 tsp. nutmeg and used fresh sweet potato's. Rolled the dough out into 3 circles and made them in the shape of cresent rolls. Put a dz. in the freezer for Thanksgiving next week. Nice way to get some veggies into ppl., like hubby, who shies away from all veggies except the white potato. Thanks for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Delicious. I made this for our Recipe Pioneers Group and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Editor's Note: 9/10/09 - The recipe was edited by the Allrecipes staff to reflect the original submission. The sweet potatoes were reduced to 1/2 cup and the flour increased to 3 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made these just as written, although I couldn't find sweet potato puree, so I had to puree it myself in the blender. The dough was very, VERY sticky, so I'll add more flour next time. (I should have read more reviews first!) And being that I have never made rolls before, I made them way too huge. (I only got a baker's dozen.) The flavor is AWESOME, however, and my 7-year-old is on her second one as I type. Thanks for the great recipe, I plan to perfect my technique before Thanksgiving!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States