Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
My sister-in-law gave me this same recipe and it is fantastic. The only difference is after the punching down and resting step, I then divide the dough into 3 equal size balls. Roll these balls out into a fairly thin circular shape, use a pizza cutter and cut in 12 equal wedges. Roll the wedges up from the longer side down to the point, let them double in size, about 40 mins., and then bake as directed. Because they make so many, I put them in smaller freezer bags after I've baked them. When I want to use them, simply let them defrost for approximately an hour, place on a lightly greased cookie sheet and bake for about 10 mins. at 300º.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this in my bread machine. The only change I made was 3 Tbsp brown sugar and 1 Tbsp white, and I added 1 tsp. ground nutmeg. I used sweet potaots I grew in my garden. I think those who said they were not as orange colored as they anticipated maybe used canned sweet potatos. Mine were very orange, absolutely gorgeous! I served with honey butter. This is a wonderful recipe and a great use for sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Very easy recipe to make. You will use more flour than needed because the dough is very sticky. The taste is wonderful. What could possibly be better than homemade rolls. I did use regular sweet potatos and not canned. It takes about 3 small ones to equal the 1-1/2cups canned. I too added some brown sugar to the potatos about 2T, next time I think I'll add about 1/4cup. My rolls were about the size of normal dinner rolls and so this recipe made 24 good size rolls for me. I would not recommend skipping the step on oiling the pan even if your pan is nonstick. It really needs the oil. This recipe has a wonderful taste. The aroma of the bread rising and baking is out of this world, but I think that on all homemade breads. I paired this with Angels Beef Stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I used 3 fresh sweet potatoes that had been baked and mashed. The color of these rolls was beautiful. My family is avowed sweet potato haters so I didn't tell them what kind of rolls they were scarfing down at Thanksgiving dinner. It was thumbs up all around the table for the soft tasty rolls with none of them realizing they were eating the hated sweet potato. The recipe did require more flour..perhaps as much as a cup. I didn't measure..just added until I had a firm but still sticky dough. Also added 2 T of brown sugar. Used Pam on my hands while forming the rolls so the dough wouldn't stick. They rose perfectly and were gorgeous after they baked. Thanks Sherlie, loved this recipe and plan to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Yes, these rolls are tender, moist & the color is pretty, but if you are expecting a little more flavor (like perhaps sweet potato) then you may be disappointed. I too used almost 5 cups of flour instead of 3. If you are short on prep time, when you go ingredient shopping, substitue "Rapid Rise" yeast... Basically you'll mix all your dry ingredients together (including the yeast), and put the margarine in your saucepan with the water as you heat it (using this method you heat the water to 120-130 degrees). In the meantime, I pureed my cooked sweet potatoes & the eggs together in my blender. Once your water has reached the proper temp, add it to the dry ingredients, and then add your blended potato mixture. Once it's all incorporated, knead for about 5 minutes, then cover for 10 minutes and let rest. Then you're ready to shape your rolls. Of course, they need to rise before baking, but you've just saved yourself an hour because you didn't have to wait for it to rise the first time, then punch down, then shape, then rise again, etc, etc. They are quite tasty, but "subtle" is the word of the day. What this recipe needs is sweet potato concentrate. Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Wonderful recipe! I used yams (cooked and mashed) and I substituded 2 c. whole wheat flour for 2 c. of the white flour. I threw it all in my bread machine without too much trouble. Works fine for a loaf of bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
We loved these rolls and will make them every Thanksgiving from now on. My one year old could not get enough. Very moist and great flavor. I used 1/2 cup extra sweet potato (fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I loved these rolls. The texture is so tender, and they have a delicate flavor--not too sweet. I had 3 small sweet potatoes, so I cooked & mashed those instead of canned. I tried something different--I subbed eggnog for the water and took a tip from EVILBEE and used brown sugar and about 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I did add another three cups of flour (1/2 cup of WW) and still had to keep my finger tips floured while pinching off the dough. I got 27 nice sized rolls and a loaf of bread! Great idea for dinner rolls, Sherlie--thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I used fresh cooked sweet potatoes instead of canned. Absolutely fabulous rolls! Ate them with some Honeybaked Ham for breakfast. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I loved these although I HATE sweet potatoes. I only used 1 cup of sweetpotato (left over from a pie I made for my fiance). He immediately sent the recipe to his mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States