Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Just tried this recipe, very good! I only made half a recipe to use up some left over cooked sweet potato. It is a sticky dough but I just patted it out and scooped with a floured ice cream scoop and plopped it in the pan. Baled @350 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaFaMi
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. The rolls are soft and lovely. I added 1/2 teaspoon of bread softener and piped some custard on top of the rolls before putting them into the oven, to give a lovelier taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaFaMi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe! They were delicious! I love that I am able to sneak some vegetables in through the sweet potato and my husband doesn't even know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by victoria
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I use Purple sweet potatoes instead of canned sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I was a little confused after reading older reviews until I came across an AR review that said they had updated the recipe to reflect the original submission. That explains why so many people needed so much extra flour! These are very soft, delicious rolls! I used fresh sweet potato (about 3/4c) but didn't taste the sweet potato flavor at all. Some reviewers said they were slightly sweet, which I was looking forward to, but I didn't think they were. I used Smart Balance instead of margarine and about 4 total cups of flour. I mixed it in my KA mixer & got 15 total rolls that I baked for 20 minutes in a 9X13 glass pyrex dish. After the first 12 minutes, I brushed the tops with melted butter & put them back in the oven. Next time I'll add a little more sugar but overall they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were very good. Soft, fluffy and perfect. Used the leftover rolls to make a ham sandwich. Yum! My hubby really loved these too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good. Will make again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These rolls are good. The recipe is simple and easy to follow. I did use fresh sweet potatoes and cut the sugar back to 1 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made these with left over squash instead of sweet potoatoes and used 60% whole wheat flour. Still delicious! It made 32 small crescents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The first time I had sweet potato rolls was when I met my husband's family in rural VA. They were to die for. I was always intimidated by the women in his family who made them. This past Thanksgiving, I found this recipe and "tried". I woke my husband up at 3am "taste it". He loved them! I had 3 of them on the spot. They were the talk of my dinner gathering. My German neighbors ask for them now. My only regret is that one batch didn't make 3 dozen vice 1. :) Thank you so much! I'm going to now to try it with pumpkin. Can't wait to see if that works. Simone in Stuttgart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMONE1229
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States