Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These made a delicious sidedish to our Easter turkey dinner. Just a hint of sweetness. I boiled and mashed sweet potatoes and set the potato water aside for use as the liquid in this recipe. I made the dough in my bread machine, which worked out well. I then divided the dough up into 54 balls (18 x 3), in order to form "clover leaf rolls" by placing three small dough balls together in a greased muffin tin. I allowed them to rise another hour before baking for 12 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
So far, it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Really just did not have the flavor I was expecting from these. I did not change anything and just didnt turn out like I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My first attempt at made from scratch, knead your own dough, rolls. LadySparkle suggested this recipe for me try. The taste is wonderful, but I have a long way to go to learn to make nice smooth rolls. The sweet potato added a nice taste and a very pretty color to this roll. I made several batches to try and get a smooth finish. Each batch was better than the batch before, but I'm not there yet. I dried the "ugly" ones to use as bread crumbs. The crumbs were wonderful on AR "Cauliflower Romaine Salad" and I used them on some baked chicken. Thanks SHERLIE for sharing your recipe. I will be making again as my family and extended loved the taste. Thanks also to LadySparkle for the suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Wonderful, tender rolls. Used them for pulled pork sliders, great way to sneak a little healthy veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchanner
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Loved the taste and experience of making bread. I cooked mine a little too long but that was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These rolls were very good, but they didn't have a very strong taste of sweet potato. Everyone who had one loved them. I did not use canned sweet potato, I used sweet potatoes that I cooked in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit. My husband who doesn't usually like rolls really loved these and other family memebers really raved. I thought they were pretty good but I'm giving them 5 stars based on my family memebers response. I baked one whole sweet potato and mashed it and that instead of the canned and brushed meted butter on top after they baked. These were a great addition to the holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
OMG . . .I made these rolls for Thanksgiving, and I know the Recipe said you could make @ least 16 balls but instead i made two pans about 6 medium size in each pan and my family ate the first pan before we even started having dinner so they've ask me to make them for Christmas dinner! Btw I made some honey butter for them to put on the rolls, they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoBear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Even with my very limited experience with yeast dough, these came out very well! Very light and fluffy. I did use fresh sweet potatoes and I added about 1/4 cup more to the dough. They still did not really taste like sweet potato at all. The dough was very easy to work with, I did add a bit more flour. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States