Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
OMG . . .I made these rolls for Thanksgiving, and I know the Recipe said you could make @ least 16 balls but instead i made two pans about 6 medium size in each pan and my family ate the first pan before we even started having dinner so they've ask me to make them for Christmas dinner! Btw I made some honey butter for them to put on the rolls, they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoBear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Even with my very limited experience with yeast dough, these came out very well! Very light and fluffy. I did use fresh sweet potatoes and I added about 1/4 cup more to the dough. They still did not really taste like sweet potato at all. The dough was very easy to work with, I did add a bit more flour. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wow---these were phenomenal! I used 1 T brown sugar and 3T white sugar. I used less flour (by accident) and the dough was relatively sticky. I also used fresh yams. They turned out so tender and fluffy. My guy said they were definitely restaurant quality. They were the hit of the Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made these for Thanksgiving tomorrow. The sweet potato flavor is subtle, but still recognizable. Nice dinner rolls with light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe. I used a fresh yam I baked in the oven and made two loaves of bread instead of rolls. Worked out very well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good. Even the leftovers were soft and fluffy a couple of days later. I put the ingredients in my bread machine, and brushed an egg wash on top before baking. I used mashed baked yam instead of sweet potato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I changed a few things: I used safflower oil instead of butter, used half whole wheat flour, subbed brown sugar and molasses for the white sugar, and used just a bit more mashed sweet potato. Despite all this, they were still great. Half were made into dinner rolls while the other half was used as a base for cinnamon rolls. As mentioned more than a few times, they don't really taste like sweet potato, but they were still tasty, fluffy, and moist. I think I'll add a wee bit more salt next time, as they were just a bit flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I am a beginner at bread making and these rolls came about wonderful!!! I will be making these again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I really liked these, but they did not get the rave reviews expected. (I guess you have to like sweet potatoes.) I thought they were a perfect accompaniment for a pork chop dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
These rolls were fantastic!! I used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar in the bread recipe and allowed the kitchen aide mixer to knead adding another 1/2 cup of flour not allowing it to stick to the bottom. I think these are a must for Thanksgiving with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States