Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I've made similar with Semolina flour, honey, salt, eggs, distilled water, yeast, olive oil, which is healthier. I do a sponge rise, put in covered bowl overnight, sprinkle on more yeast, add more flour, add the eggs and the olive oil about an hour before shaping. Overnight rising develops texture and flavor. When rise doubles, place in buttered baking dish as above photo, place in 400 degree preheated oven, bake about 8 minutes, check after 5 minutes, or until browned. To get the glaze in the photo, french-whip a teaspoon of corn starch, into a raw egg, gently brush onto rolls after half through baking when they will be firm enough not to be deformed by the brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kru Satyr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We liked this a lot! I made some changes: I used one cup of mashed sweet potatoes, not canned. I combined this with the softened butter and eggs, using a mixer to blend. I used egg substitute (1/2 cup= 2 eggs). I tossed all of this in the bread machine with the salt and only 3Tbs of sugar, and started the machine on the dough setting. I use dry active yeast with a pinch of sugar in warm water and don't add until the yeast mixture is bubbly. I used 2 cups of wheat flour and one cup of white bread flour. let the bread machine mix it, and added about another half cup of white bread flour ( I would not add so much flour next time though!). Note: it is OKAY for the dough to be sticky! Especially in the bread machine, as long as it doesn't stick to the sides, you are okay! After the bread machine had the Doug mixed well I just unplugged it and let it rise in there with the lid closed for an hour or so. Sprayed two small square pans with cooking spray and put some oil on my hands while rolling the dough into balls. Baked for about 15minutes and rubbed a stick of margerin on the rolls when they came out of the oven. Changes for next time: I'd go ahead and do the 4Tbs of sugar, use a little less flour, and use real butter for the top after they come out of the oven! Definitely a keeper! Great with honey or with a hearty roast or stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Best roll recipe. I did brown sugar instead of regular and added just a little more sweet potato. I just used canned. As others have said, more flour is needed than it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Rawalt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making homemade rolls without my bread machine. They turned out perfect. They were a beautiful color and texture and just the right sweetness. I was able to use our homegrown sweet potatoes which made me feel great. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Simply amazing! I used bread flour instead of all purpose flour, increased the sweet potato to 1 cup, used brown sugar instead of white sugar and used real butter. They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
These rolls are awesome! I use 3/4C boiled & Mashed Sweet potatoes, 3T of Dark Brown Sugar, 1T of White Sugar, 2tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice. I tested them on a group of friends and they ate every single one of them. One lady even stuffed on in their purse lol, another wants to pay me to make another batch. I WILL be making these again tonight and for thanksgiving! I'm so glad that I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biscuit PoP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I had some sweet potatoes that I needed to use quick so I fo this recipe. I roasted them in the oven. I mashed them with brown sugar, nutmeg and salt. I added that to the proofed yeast then the eggs and mixed well then I added flour. It was very sticky, I added at least 5 cups of flour. My house was cold but the dough did rise. They were delicious. I would make this again, I'm looking at my butternut squash, wonder if that would work......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFRANI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Holy Cow these were rich and amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Delicious, but I did make subs: I decreased sugar by half, used one roasted garnet yam, and butter instead of marg. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Ok I loveeeeee this recipe I make these rolls every week my kids and hubby love it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States