Sweet Potato Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TONIQ
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This is my recipe. I found using more potatos cuts back on the sweetness just enough.You can also make this ahead of time and just reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton Bays, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
When I tasted this before cooking, I found the flavor to be rather thin and unremarkable. So I added: molasses, lots of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and a smidge of rum. With these additions, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I love this dish but for health reasons I did a few things different. I boiled the potatoes first, then skinned them (the skins come off easier that way). I substitued Splenda for the white sugar and added 1/3 cup brown sugar. I also mixed in walnuts and used egg subsitute instead of the real things. For butter I used a Heart Smart brand of butter that really did taste like butter but was made largely with olive oil. The only thing I did allow for us was the miniature marshmellows but not too many. We ate this stuff like it was going out of style and we didn't feel bad afterward. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
We have this every year for Thanksgiving, it's a staple. I do add a little cinnamon and nutmeg, also great with miniature marshmallows and crushed pecans as a topping before cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Excellent dish! I made this for dessert and, after just one spoonful, my wife insisted "you gotta make this for my mother!" One change: I used 3 tbs butter instead of 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I liked it, but it was far too sweet and became very clumpy. Don't know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
This was sooooo good, I couldn't stop myself from finishing it off after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Even my kids ate his one! It could be less sweet, but the orange flavor is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner as a side dish and everyone loved it. It's quick and easy to make, even for the culinary challanged like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I added cinammon to this...can be a little bland. But it's good for a quick sweet potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States