Sweet Potato Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TONIQ
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This is my recipe. I found using more potatos cuts back on the sweetness just enough.You can also make this ahead of time and just reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton Bays, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
When I tasted this before cooking, I found the flavor to be rather thin and unremarkable. So I added: molasses, lots of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and a smidge of rum. With these additions, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I love this dish but for health reasons I did a few things different. I boiled the potatoes first, then skinned them (the skins come off easier that way). I substitued Splenda for the white sugar and added 1/3 cup brown sugar. I also mixed in walnuts and used egg subsitute instead of the real things. For butter I used a Heart Smart brand of butter that really did taste like butter but was made largely with olive oil. The only thing I did allow for us was the miniature marshmellows but not too many. We ate this stuff like it was going out of style and we didn't feel bad afterward. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
We have this every year for Thanksgiving, it's a staple. I do add a little cinnamon and nutmeg, also great with miniature marshmallows and crushed pecans as a topping before cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Excellent dish! I made this for dessert and, after just one spoonful, my wife insisted "you gotta make this for my mother!" One change: I used 3 tbs butter instead of 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I liked it, but it was far too sweet and became very clumpy. Don't know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
This was sooooo good, I couldn't stop myself from finishing it off after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Even my kids ate his one! It could be less sweet, but the orange flavor is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner as a side dish and everyone loved it. It's quick and easy to make, even for the culinary challanged like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I added cinammon to this...can be a little bland. But it's good for a quick sweet potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States