Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BUTTAFLYJ
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I've been making this recipe for the last two years and it's always a requested cake by many family and friends during the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays. I love that it's less ingredients than the traditional butter pound cake I always make...and it's lighter. My picky eater child even loves it. I've used both butter and margarine...didn't see or taste a difference. I usually add another tsp of vanilla too. And my gas oven cooks hot and fast so my cooking time is only 1 hour at 325 degrees. Any longer or hotter and it dries the cake out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I had made too many sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving and wanted to try something other than sweet potato pie. This is a great alternative. I just pulled it out of the oven and tasted it warm. It is so good! I think I'll make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I tried this yesterday and it was a hit! I took one of the other reviews advice and used cake flour. The cake was moist and just delicious! I replaced the orange juice in the glaze with a mango, peach orange juice blend to make the glaze more interesting. I also added the zest right to the glaze. What a great cake! It will now be a thanksgiving must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it the first time by following the recipe to a tee but using organic ingredients where possible and it was super although I did not have to cook mine near as long as directed. I then made it a second time with the following changes: I used only 1 cup of organic cane sugar instead of the 2 cups of white sugar. I used 1 Tbsp. madagascar vanilla instead of 1 teaspoon. I used 2 and 3/4 cups of King Arthur White-Wheat Flour. I also added 1/4 cup mayonnaise at the end. I baked this at 350 degrees for 1 hour. For the glaze I did the following 1 cup organic powdered sugar 1 Tbsp. soft amish butter 2 Tbsp. pineapple, coconut juice with no sugar added and 100% natural 1 Tbsp. grated orange zest It came out just as good with the reduced sugar and the pineapple/coconut glaze was really good. This is really a great cake with lots of opportunity for different flavors. Thanks for sharing Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freestyle66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yummy! made it in muffin pan, so they took a lot less time to cook. Also instead of using four eggs, I used two eggs, and two large table spoons of mayo, this made this super moist and delicious. Doubled the cinnamon. Gone before I could say enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe, Anne. I made this at the weekend and it was a perfect cake to take into work. Not too sweet, even with the glaze, easy to cut and pretty light. I made the following modifications based on previous reviewers: - half butter substituted for apple sauce - more spice with 1tsp mixed spice, 1/2 tsp ginger - baked for an hour I should have put the glaze on earlier, I waited 20 minutes before inverting and glazing, the cake wasn't warm enough to fully absorb the glaze. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm going to keep trying with this recipe, since I don't think the kind of flour I used (the first time) did it any favors (whole grain pastry flour). Also, the second cake I made with this recipe, I used AP flour, and I added 2 T cocoa, an extra tsp of cinnamon, a tsp of pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. It turned out MUCH better. I like the extra spice, and the cocoa adds a little something extra I like to the flavor. I think it's a recipe worth having. I'm not an expert with cakes (I'm more of a pie girl, really), but this is a keeper. Probably some cake flour would make a huge difference, and I intend to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent pound cake. I used a little different glaze just because I had some apricot brandy i wanted to use. Quite delicious. I only bake it for an hour. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very delicious! Followed the recipe the way it was written except I may have used a bit more sweet potatoe since I wanted to use up some left over baked ones I had. Made a very moist and delicious twist on a traditional pound canke. Know this one is a keeper since the husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States