Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years and it is always a hit. Instead of a tube or bunt cake pan I use two loaf pans (This recipe will make enough for two loaf pans). I bake till a toothpick comes out clean. I start checking around 45 minutes into the baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Everyone loved it. Peeled and boiled potatoes which helped soften the butter. used 1 cup brown sugar, 3/4 white sugar and 1/4 honey. Also extra cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, vanilla and almond extract. One extra egg (have chickens, always use extra eggs). With the frosting, I also used real lemon juice along with the fresh orange juice and zest. Definitely a keeper. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavn4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I just made this and it is delicious, very moist and perfectly spiced! I did use cake flour, and added a tsp. Orange peel and a tsp orange extract to the batter. Left it unglazed, it doesnt really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Yummy and moist. I used 1/2 a/p & 1/2 whole wheat flour & added 1/2 tsp. of ginger. I also don't have a tube pan, so just divided it between 2 loaf pans & baked for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I had to give the recipe a 4 as is. I really want to give it a five but just can't. I love the recipe and have made it countless times with cake flour and various glazes. Any descriptions that I have can't do it justice. It's a pleasant surprise to the people here in Savannah and we use sweet potatoes in just about everything on a regular basis. Today I couldn't find any cake flour in the pantry and decided to just follow the recipe as written minus a shorter cooking time(from past experiences with this cake). The AP flour resulted in a bread like texture that didn't really work. My normal baking time is 1hr 5mins but using the cake flour I should have cut it by another ten minutes. It's nice to follow recipes word for word but experience can also prevent you from losing time and money on something that didn't feel quite right. I don't think that I will ever do that again.I'm going to toss this one and just make the other version tomorrow. Once again, I have made this recipe a keeper...with edits of course. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This cake is delicious. I made it with left over sweet potatoes cooked in orange juice and it was very moist. I did not make the glaze but my co-workers didn't seem to mind. Everyone liked the cake. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This cake is INCREDIBLE. I used cake flour and added a little brown sugar to my mashed sweet potatoes. I also put chopped pecans in the bottom of the pan before adding the cake mix. I'm sure the orange glaze would've been great however I opted for a brown sugar glaze which was the perfect topping for this moist delicious cake. Even the batter is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was delicious and very easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very moist pound cake. I used cake flour and cut back the sugar to 1 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup granulated sugar. I made 3 loaves and 6 muffins out of this recipe. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tweeted this recipe by using cooked yams that I made and I add coconut..my husband and everyone loves my cake. Thank you for the recipe. For those who don't like this recipe, you did something wrong, this is an excellent sweet potato cake recipe...Kuddos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stellar Asia

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States