Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Wow what a great cake made for thanksgiving every one was bragging about that cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A 5-star recipe that I will make again! In my opinion, a more appropriate title might be "Spice Cake with Orange Glaze". The sweet potatoes are unrecognizable in the cake and the cinnamon and nutmeg come through nicely. The texture and consistency of the cake wasn't like a pound cake to me. The orange glaze is a must, and really made the cake sing. A Thanksgiving hit; will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this today for my parents and in-laws. A big hit!!! I love baking and I have a go-to pound cake recipe I've used for years. However, I was wanting to make a spice cake as fits the season, and I love sweet potatoes. This was perfect. I added raisins and a little brown sugar (as someone else mentioned to do in one of the reviews I read). This is definitely a cake I'll make again very soon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Everyone who I make this for loves it. I even forgot the orange juice and it still came out a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This cake was very good. I did use cake flour like other reviewers. It had a taste similiar to a spice cake...nice cake for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Absolutely Wonderful! I highly recommend this recipe. My family could not get enough. Before my husband could finish his second piece, he told me to make another tonight. I tweaked this recipe some for our family taste buds:I added extra 1/2 tsp vanilla, decreased nutmeg to 1/4 tsp, after creaming butter and sugar.,I added one egg at a time, then added two cups of hot mashed sweet potatoes, followed by flour mixture, lastly I added vanilla. Only baked for 35-40 minutes. Baked in Bundt cake pan.Wonderful golden/orange color. Immediately inverted to cake plate to cool.Cake was so good, I didn't even bother to make orange confection glaze. Cake was moist, dense, but not heavy like a brick. This cake could pass as a soft sweet potato loaf depending on what you bake it in. Again, fantastic recipe. Highly Recommended. This recipe is a keeper. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years and it is always a hit. Instead of a tube or bunt cake pan I use two loaf pans (This recipe will make enough for two loaf pans). I bake till a toothpick comes out clean. I start checking around 45 minutes into the baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Everyone loved it. Peeled and boiled potatoes which helped soften the butter. used 1 cup brown sugar, 3/4 white sugar and 1/4 honey. Also extra cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, vanilla and almond extract. One extra egg (have chickens, always use extra eggs). With the frosting, I also used real lemon juice along with the fresh orange juice and zest. Definitely a keeper. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavn4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I just made this and it is delicious, very moist and perfectly spiced! I did use cake flour, and added a tsp. Orange peel and a tsp orange extract to the batter. Left it unglazed, it doesnt really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Carr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Yummy and moist. I used 1/2 a/p & 1/2 whole wheat flour & added 1/2 tsp. of ginger. I also don't have a tube pan, so just divided it between 2 loaf pans & baked for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States