Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe but watch the bake time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made it exactly like the recipe said, everyone loved it! "Super moist", "not too sweet", "really sweet potato? So good". Light, fluffy, moist, sweet but not that I ate to much sweet cake kind of sweet. Perfect for the fall, winter, holiday season:)????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love this cake! It has become a holiday favorite with my family. I reduce the heat and baking time according to my oven/pan. Instead of baking sweet potatoes, I use a can of Bruce's baked sweet potatoes. I've finished the cake with an orange glaze, pineapple glaze, cream cheese glaze, and simple powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious! I used cake flour instead of flour and this cake was a hit. Served with whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Wow what a great cake made for thanksgiving every one was bragging about that cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A 5-star recipe that I will make again! In my opinion, a more appropriate title might be "Spice Cake with Orange Glaze". The sweet potatoes are unrecognizable in the cake and the cinnamon and nutmeg come through nicely. The texture and consistency of the cake wasn't like a pound cake to me. The orange glaze is a must, and really made the cake sing. A Thanksgiving hit; will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this today for my parents and in-laws. A big hit!!! I love baking and I have a go-to pound cake recipe I've used for years. However, I was wanting to make a spice cake as fits the season, and I love sweet potatoes. This was perfect. I added raisins and a little brown sugar (as someone else mentioned to do in one of the reviews I read). This is definitely a cake I'll make again very soon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Everyone who I make this for loves it. I even forgot the orange juice and it still came out a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This cake was very good. I did use cake flour like other reviewers. It had a taste similiar to a spice cake...nice cake for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Absolutely Wonderful! I highly recommend this recipe. My family could not get enough. Before my husband could finish his second piece, he told me to make another tonight. I tweaked this recipe some for our family taste buds:I added extra 1/2 tsp vanilla, decreased nutmeg to 1/4 tsp, after creaming butter and sugar.,I added one egg at a time, then added two cups of hot mashed sweet potatoes, followed by flour mixture, lastly I added vanilla. Only baked for 35-40 minutes. Baked in Bundt cake pan.Wonderful golden/orange color. Immediately inverted to cake plate to cool.Cake was so good, I didn't even bother to make orange confection glaze. Cake was moist, dense, but not heavy like a brick. This cake could pass as a soft sweet potato loaf depending on what you bake it in. Again, fantastic recipe. Highly Recommended. This recipe is a keeper. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States