Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
My folks thought it was wonderful. I don't like nutmeg so substituted butter nut vanilla flavoring for the nutmeg and used butter nut vanilla flavoring and milk in the glaze. I have made 3 in 2 days. We took one to a function and everyone was asking for the recipe. Thanks for a recipe that will be used over and over at our home!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Real sweet potatoes are difficult to find where I live so I substituted yams. Make sure they have cooled before adding to the batter. I would recommend testing after 1 hour - my cake was done in 1 hr 5 minutes. Nice moist pound cake, excellent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Loved it. This cake came out very moist and tasted just like sweet potato pie. I sprinkled a little brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to the mashed sweet potatoes and used cake flour as suggested by other reviewers. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This cake was dry and not very tasty. I was embarrassed when everyone tried it at the luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGERLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I give this cake five stars because my whole family loves it, but I thought it was heavy and dense. I think my mistake was my sweet potatoes were warm when I added them to my fluffy butter and sugar and the butter melted and was very runny until I added the flour. Maybe I will try the canned kind next. The cake was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Excellent recipe! I used fresh sweet potatoes and seasoned them with cinnamon,brown sugar, and nutmeg before I added them to the mix. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This is one of the best pound cakes I've ever tasted or made. Used 2 1/2 cups of mashed canned sweet potatoes (1 40oz can) and sweetened it with a little brown sugar, extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Used a pineapple glaze instead of orange. A delicious soft, moist masterpiece. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This cake was just ok. There are many other pound cakes I would make before I would bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This was a delicious recipe. I used the cake flour as recommended by other reviewers. I also did not need to bake it for the full 1 hr. 20 min. -- went about 55 minutes and it was well done. I will definitely make this again, perhaps bake for about 5 minutes less. Tastes like a spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Beautiful presentation for Thanksgiving. Nice fall colors, and the sweet potato adds an interesting flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States