Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
The only way I like sweet potatoes. Here are my suggestions for a different cake: add dried cranberries (about 1/2 cup) and 1 tsp. grated orange rind. No better just different. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was ok. The spices were very nice but it seemed like it was missing something. Needs some experementing, but the potential is there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I made this for my daughter's first birthday party, and it turned out great! I made it exactly as directed, using canned sweet potatoes and baking it in a bundt pan for 1 hour. Whoever said to bake it for longer than an hour must have had an oven that wasn't working right, an hour was plenty! It turned out great, and tasted fantastic, everyone loved it, even the birthday girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
A previous review suggested cooking only 60 min, but my cake was slightly over done by that time. The result was a dry cake that was tasty but required lots of water to wash it down. I prefer a much more dense pound cake, but this was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I would give this one 10 stars if I could! This is SOOOOO good. I made this for my husband for Father's Day. He said it was one of the best, if not THE best pound cakes he has ever had! This is a HUGE compliment because his mom has made fantastic pound cakes his whole life. I am a novice at pound cakes and it turned out so yummy! I microwaved the sweet potatoes (it took 3 med/large ones). I added them hot which melted the butter. If this happens to you, decrease the cooking time by 20-25 minutes. (I will make it every time this way! It cuts the prep./cooking time substantially.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This cake is so delicious. Everyone I gave a slice to wanted the recipe too! The next time I make it I'm going to add some roasted pecans to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
We exhanged one cup of wheat for one cup of the white, and doubled cinnamon, added some pumpkin pie spice. Had it with whipped topping. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Loved this cake!! My family is a big fan of sweet potato pie so I was a little skeptical at first but I couldn't have been more pleased with the result. I did as others suggested and only baked the cake for about 1 hour. Other than that, a really excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was such a wonderful cake. I made if for my new years party and it was quite a hit. This was my first time baking anything that didn't say "just add water", so it was very easy to make. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I've been baking this cake since 12/31/2000. Family and friends love it. I've stuck to the original recipe, baking for just 60 minutes and it comes out perfect. This cake is a must for the Thanksgiving and Christmas seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States