Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I had never made cakes with sweet potatoes and was curious about this pound cake. Wonderful texture and an unusual taste (pleasant). A keeper. While the cake was still warm I glazed with maple syrup. I also made a quick bread I'll post soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made these as muffin/cupcakes and the kids loved 'em! At least it has SOMETHING healthy in it, right? Took about 40 minutes in the oven and made 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It was pretty good. Not a real rave whith the family, but that could have been my fault. I'm working on my baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This cake was a big hit with my entire family. I did use 2 1/2 cups of sweet potato and mine turned out looking a different color but was completely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephna!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Just made this one a few hours ago as one of our Christmas desserts. It's wonderful. I modified the recipe just slightly by substituting 1/2 cup brown sugar for part of the white sugar. Also, instead of the orange glaze, I made a maple brown sugar glaze using butter, brown sugar, maple syrup, and half n' half (to smooth it out). Both my husband and I have tasted a small slice and it's incredible. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I just made this for our Thanksgiving meal...Oh my goodness this was the best dessert by far! I did modify the recipe a bit but I think as written it would have been great anyway....Instead of the full amount of white sugar I used half white and half brown sugar...I did add a bit more vanilla, just for personal taste...After reading the reviews I came across someone saying they used a brown sugar glaze over it...I couldn't find a recipe for brown sugar glaze, so I made something up. I melted a stick of butter added some brown sugar (just eyeballed it) and a shot of vanilla extract...I baked the cake in a springform pan, and let it rest for a few minutes. I put it on a cake platter poked several holes in it with a wooden skewer and poured the glaze over the cake...The outcome? The most moist wonderful light cake I have ever had!!! Great recipe, this is a keeper and will be on my families table every holiday! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. Some of the people who tried it, really liked it but I was not impressed. I just made it again using cake flour as suggested by some other posters. I also added 1/2 tsp. of allspice as I do when I make a sweet potato pie. The result was fabulous. The cake seems lighter and the allspice added a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Everyone loved this pound cake, and since I am from a farming family, it made it all sweeter! My husband suggested a cream cheees icing, but other than that, I'd not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This cake is so good. I changed the recipe a little and added a cup of chopped walnuts to it. Tastes so good when served warm with a little apple butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
What a lovely cake. My daughter had to find recipe for school and this was one we choice for her to make, she got very good marks for it too! A lovely moist cake, the only change I made was to use self raising flour instead of plain. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States