Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I have not made this cake yet but when I do can I use cake flour.do I still add baking soda an baking powder.the cake looks delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This Recipe is Great!!! I followed the recipe as is with the exception of the orange glaze. I tweaked a lil and used the powdered sugar to sprinkle and added almond extract in place of Vanilla . Taste Great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeymoon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This cake is an old favorite of mine. Only had it as a kid around Christmas time. DELICIOUS! My family did not use the orange juice and orange rind though, they used rum in the batter and rum in the icing,and pecans. But I like this variation too! And there was a bakery nearby where I used to live that made this cake with pineapple. I miss that bakery that went out of business. They also made great sweet potato pies that tasted like they were made at home. Sweet memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Vegan substitutions of purred banana and olive oil for eggs and Crisco for Butter, the results were magnificent. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This cake looks beautiful! However, it turned out pretty dry for me and not a lot of flavor. I did change out the sweet potato and used 2 1/2 cups pumpkin, adding more than the recipe called for but still dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AwesomeChick81
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
We loved it, but I made some (minor) changes. The way the recipe is, it still would have been a five star rating so I'm rating to reflect it. I followed recipe but used half brown sugar and half white. I used cake flour instead of all purpose. It wasn't specified to use unsalted butter but that's what I used in case anyone might be curious. Also added about a half teaspoon of apple pie spice. I used a 10 inch bundt and it took only 50-55 min ( can't remember exactly but I checked it when my house started to smell wonderful.) Also, I was lazy after doing dishes so I just topped it with powdered sugar instead of the glaze and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeChick81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This cake was easy to make, delicious and very moist. I prepared this cake for Christmas and several family members requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Fantastic! Very bright flavors, very moist! I only had canned yams on hand, and they did very well. This recipe also worked well at my altitude (Denver, CO), which is nice, some things don't turn out well unless you tweak the leaveners a bit. I served it with a home made whipped cream that I flavored with orange zest and cinnamon. Happy baking, all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe is awesome, just made it today. The cake turned out great! The only thing I did differently was add 2 1/2 cups of sweet potatoes instead of 2. I also cut the baking time down by approximately 10 minutes because I used a seasoned stone bundt pan. This will definitely be one of my go to desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I too just like Ngerland found this recipe to be dry and bland when I tried it. It looked very presentable, but the product was dissatisfying and lost its steam fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States