Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yummy! made it in muffin pan, so they took a lot less time to cook. Also instead of using four eggs, I used two eggs, and two large table spoons of mayo, this made this super moist and delicious. Doubled the cinnamon. Gone before I could say enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe, Anne. I made this at the weekend and it was a perfect cake to take into work. Not too sweet, even with the glaze, easy to cut and pretty light. I made the following modifications based on previous reviewers: - half butter substituted for apple sauce - more spice with 1tsp mixed spice, 1/2 tsp ginger - baked for an hour I should have put the glaze on earlier, I waited 20 minutes before inverting and glazing, the cake wasn't warm enough to fully absorb the glaze. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm going to keep trying with this recipe, since I don't think the kind of flour I used (the first time) did it any favors (whole grain pastry flour). Also, the second cake I made with this recipe, I used AP flour, and I added 2 T cocoa, an extra tsp of cinnamon, a tsp of pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. It turned out MUCH better. I like the extra spice, and the cocoa adds a little something extra I like to the flavor. I think it's a recipe worth having. I'm not an expert with cakes (I'm more of a pie girl, really), but this is a keeper. Probably some cake flour would make a huge difference, and I intend to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent pound cake. I used a little different glaze just because I had some apricot brandy i wanted to use. Quite delicious. I only bake it for an hour. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very delicious! Followed the recipe the way it was written except I may have used a bit more sweet potatoe since I wanted to use up some left over baked ones I had. Made a very moist and delicious twist on a traditional pound canke. Know this one is a keeper since the husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Really good toasted, with butter. I used some brown sugar to replace white and wound up with something browner than the photo shown here. I backed off on the butter because the sweet potatoes I used were leftovers which were already sweetened and spiced somewhat. I added addition spices and some orange zest. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I can't believe I'm actually writing another review, but this was really good, per all the raves I got. I also did 1c. white, 1 c. brown sugar. I'm a little stingy when it comes to my real butter so I did use 1 stick butter,1 stick margerine. Bake according to what u know ur oven can do. My bundt only took 55-60 mins. Had to give quite a few saran wrapped slices away because it was toooooo dangerous to keep in the house.(Yes, that Good!) Very moist. Oh yeah, and I didn't use any glaze. This cake holds it's own. I'm already getting request for full cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heyvee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Loved the cake I cooked it for 1 hour and 10 min in my oven. I added more cinnamon, vanilla, and nutmeg to suit my taste. I also added a little ginger and a cap full of lemon extract. I omitted the glaze it really didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Absolutely beautiful. Seriously. Loved it!! So did my neighbour (she also wants to bottle the scent for an air freshener). Only changes I made was to bake in 2 loaf pans and I omitted the glaze. Fantastic!!!! Thanks for the recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Brasser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is pretty tasty. I didn't use the glaze because I didn't feel the need to add more sugar to a perfectly sweet cake. Next time I'll add a little orange zest to the cake if I omit the glaze. It was moist and had a delicate crumb. The light spice flavor is perfect with a dollop of homemade whipped cream on top. You can also bake it in two 8.5" x 4.5" loaf pans for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States