Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My husband tried baking this cake twice and it did not come out well at all. It was very heavy and dry. Not sure what went wrong but we were totally disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My husband lost the recipe that he used a few years ago. This recipe is similar to what he used to make. All the other recipes we tried from books and other sites didn't quite match. All we can say is thank you. WE LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I will give this 4 starts because I changed the glaze to my own recipe consisting of powdered sugar, syrup from canned yams, vanilla, cinnamon and water. I love this recipes and so does my whole family. I will definately make it again for the holidays. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
09/07/10 - I made this again for a Labor Day barbeque and also made cinnamon whipped cream topping with cinnamon oil that just made this pound cake sing. I also used slightly more sweet potato and added some vanilla yogurt and an additional egg. I dusted the pan with a cinnamon/sugar blend instead of flour before placing in the oven to bake. This cake is just wonderful, flavorful and an elegant dessert. 07/15/10 I make large batches of homemade dog food twice a month and sweet potatoes is a key ingredient so I always have cooked sweet potato on hand. I made this last night and with two people in the household only 1/2 of the cake is left today. Great moist, dense and flavorful cake. Loved this, wonderful flavor and great color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I don't fare so well in the kitchen, so I was leary to attempt this. It is delicious! My family devoured it and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Urquhart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I had 4 cups of leftover mashed sweet potatoes, so doubled the recipe and made one bundt cake and 8 mini loaves... so good & moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious! I made a different glaze for the cake. I used confectioner's sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, and water. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This recipe is also another keeper! I used 1 cup of sugar instead of two, and I used freshly ground cinnamon. It tasted wonderful! It almost tasted like a pumpkin bread. Next time I want to try different glazes just to experiment but this cake was quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent. I served it for Easter and the orange color and flavor were nice and springy. SECOND TIME AROUND: Still wanting more orange flavor, I halved each of the spices and substituted Grand Marnier for the vanilla--very good; less "spice cakey" and more orange. THIRD TIME: left out all the spices called for and used 1 1/2 t cardamom and again, the Grand Marnier instead of vanilla. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I liked it very much esp with the glaze cuz I like my cakes to be sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States