Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this cake for my son's 1st birthday, and we all LOVED it. I frosted with a cream cheese frosting instead of the glaze - yum. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Young Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I followd the recipe, I just exchanged the all purpose flower for cake flower as some of the others suggested and the cake turned out great. This is the first cake I've EVER baked from scratch and my husband loved it. I didn't do the glaze, but next time I make it I think i will do a vanilla glaze, just for a little mor Sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Young Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious! My daughter, who does not like sweet potato, loved this cake. I served it with a maple glaze with chopped pecans...yum! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Came out beautiful! So tasty and moist, and sure it won't last either. I added ginger into the mix, it's just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This pound cake was delicious and moist, even in spite of my substitutions I made as I didn't have everything on hand. I only had one cup of mashed sweet potato, so I used mashed Yukon Gold potatoes for the other 1 c., and added a few shakes more cinnamon, scant 1/4 tsp. ginger, and 1/4 tsp. ground allspice to make up for the flavor. SOMEONE in my family ate my orange, so I used lemon juice for the glaze and kumquat peel for the zest (I have a tree in the back). The flavor was still delicious! The added spices were perfect: not overpowering but not underwhelming either. The glaze was also a fine compliment even when not orange flavored. 5 stars all the way, and I'm looking forward to making this when I have all ingredients on hand to see how it compares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastry_Perfection

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this cake and it was a BIG hit in my home. It was gone in less than 24 hours. I increased the sweet potato and butter by 1/2 cup, and added a teaspoon of allspice! Delicious! I am going to make this for my breakfast club at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My daughter begged me to make this cake again. Again I made the recipe as written...soooooo good, moist and no glaze needed. I will be making this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BernaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it. It was really moist and orange glaze added great flavor. I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great texture & taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Not really spectacular. Good, and a nice way to sneak in sweet potatoes, but just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States