Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is so far the best pound cake I have ever baked the texture is so soft and fluffy...I made this cake for my family and they absolutely LOVED it. The orange zest on top of the pound cake added a great touch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gottaluvlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Very simple to make. A big hit, very moist and tasty. Cant wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great Cake!!!Everybody loved it I bakes 2 since Thanksgiving!!Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotstuffs22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Now when I saw the orange glaze, i knew i had to have cardamom in this recipe! I cut the cinnamon down to 1/4 tsp, nixed the nutmeg, and added 1 1/4 tsp ground cardamom (next time, I think I will add even more). I went with the cake flour suggestion as well as reducing the sugar to 1 1/4 cup (this is only if you don't enjoy really sweet cakes; i prefer enjoying the flavors of the spices and sweet potato).I also reduced just two tablespoons of confectioners sugar down with the orange zest and juice on the stove, and using a mixture of water, lemon juice and cornstarch to thicken it up to glaze consistency; it gives it a really nice tart flavor that compliments the cake very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brice
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This cake was easy and delicious although I didn't add the drizzle, I did add 1/2 teaspoon of ginger. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made this cake for Thanksgiving. Turned out more like spice cake in looks and taste. The cake was light brown inside and a bit dry. Mine didn't look anything like the picture. It also cooked much faster than recommended time. I will not be keeping this recipe, I'm sorry to say even though I love sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this cake for my son's 1st birthday, and we all LOVED it. I frosted with a cream cheese frosting instead of the glaze - yum. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Young Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I followd the recipe, I just exchanged the all purpose flower for cake flower as some of the others suggested and the cake turned out great. This is the first cake I've EVER baked from scratch and my husband loved it. I didn't do the glaze, but next time I make it I think i will do a vanilla glaze, just for a little mor Sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Young Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious! My daughter, who does not like sweet potato, loved this cake. I served it with a maple glaze with chopped pecans...yum! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Came out beautiful! So tasty and moist, and sure it won't last either. I added ginger into the mix, it's just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States