Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I would give this one 10 stars if I could! This is SOOOOO good. I made this for my husband for Father's Day. He said it was one of the best, if not THE best pound cakes he has ever had! This is a HUGE compliment because his mom has made fantastic pound cakes his whole life. I am a novice at pound cakes and it turned out so yummy! I microwaved the sweet potatoes (it took 3 med/large ones). I added them hot which melted the butter. If this happens to you, decrease the cooking time by 20-25 minutes. (I will make it every time this way! It cuts the prep./cooking time substantially.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This cake is so delicious. Everyone I gave a slice to wanted the recipe too! The next time I make it I'm going to add some roasted pecans to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
We exhanged one cup of wheat for one cup of the white, and doubled cinnamon, added some pumpkin pie spice. Had it with whipped topping. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Loved this cake!! My family is a big fan of sweet potato pie so I was a little skeptical at first but I couldn't have been more pleased with the result. I did as others suggested and only baked the cake for about 1 hour. Other than that, a really excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was such a wonderful cake. I made if for my new years party and it was quite a hit. This was my first time baking anything that didn't say "just add water", so it was very easy to make. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I've been baking this cake since 12/31/2000. Family and friends love it. I've stuck to the original recipe, baking for just 60 minutes and it comes out perfect. This cake is a must for the Thanksgiving and Christmas seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
great recipe. I made cupcakes with the batter, and they turned out sooo good. It made 21, perfectly rounded topped, cupcakes. I frosted them with cream cheese frosting and topped it with a small piece of candied ginger. I made them for a potluck and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This cake is great! It's light textured and a snap to make. I didn't make the glaze because i'm not a fan of orange but the cake is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Very moist and delicious. I love the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Delicious, moist, flavorful, heavy. I substituted about 1/4 of the butter with applesauce and was short on the sweet potatoes, so I used a little applesauce there too. Also left out the nutmeg becuase I'm not a big fan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States