Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
this cake was brilliant!!!just have to ensure the heat is slightly lower cause mine was slightly burnt. BUt nevertheless, it was GREAT!!! you dont necessary have to use fresh sweet potato, overnight or left over ones will do too, i used overnight fried sweet potato and it still turned out brilliant!!! Thx!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. My family is not fond of sweet potatoes so when I found myself stuck with some I went looking for a recipe to use them in. The batter for this cake is light like marshmallow fluff and the end result is light and springy. Also, this cake is not too sweet which works great for my hubby who is not a sweet tooth. The only change I made was adding a tsp of ginger to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but the cake turned out a little on the heavy side. I also found that the glaze was great with the orange juice and zest, but it was a little too sweet for my taste. I think if I make this again I will try using maybe a cream cheese frosting and incorporate the orange juice and zest that way. All in all, it's a good cake, I was just a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarkston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This cake was fantastic!! Made it just as directed and it turned out moist, dense, and very filling. my hisband and my daughter HATE sweet potatoes, so i simply chose not to tell them it was sweet potato cake. It was gone before dinner was done. Great fresh out of the oven with fresh butter. The only thing I'll do next time is add a little more cinnamon and nutmeg, maybe omit those all together and use pumpkin pie spice. Otherwise no changes! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hjelmberg Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I have made this cake atleast 6 times and it is sooooooooooooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lithonia, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Perfect cake. It was moist, delicious, and had a beautiful texture. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out flawlessly. My family and I gobbled it up in no time flat. This will be a recipe I'll use a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
as someone who DETESTS sweet potatoes, i was very skeptical when making this cake despite the good reviews. I'm glad I did. the sweet potatoes helped make it moist. I was 1/4c short of the sweet potato but had some carrot/sweet potato puree that i use to smuggle into my 4 year old's foods, and added that, and it turned out fine. As soon as she's eaten dinner, i'm going to give her a piece of this and if she eats it, it will be in my rotation. thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This cake was wonderful! My children were begging for it in their lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This cake is absolutely delicious. I made it and substituted the sweet potato with Libby's pumpkin mix, that comes in a can. My family was amazed with the moisture of this recipe and the flavor. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
i added a cup of pecans to it then it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States