Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sandra Lee
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
If ever there was a comfort cake this is it! Whenever I feel like my baking mojo is off, this is the recipe I come back to. I also used this recipe to make cake truffles for a clients baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
OMG!! This Pound cake is DELISH!!! The only change I made was I used Cake Flour instead of AP. I cannot wait for my fiance to come home from work and try it! I do not know what size bundt pan I used, but I was able to also get two perfect sized individual cakes also!! I will send the large cake with babe to work tomorrow, and we will have the mini ones tonight!! And OMG! Orange glaze?!?! Who ever thought of this is GENIUS!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have now made this cake 6 times over the last month..1st time exactly as stated in a Bundt cake pan, looked & tasted lovely.. had over a bushel of sweet potatoes that I was looking to use for holiday gifts & decided to tweak this to use. baked the sweet potatoes, then purred. took advise of another poster & used 1 cup of dk. brown sugar with 1 cup of white sugar, added another t. cinnamon..big difference.. I have added chocolate chips or raisins to mixture & the best yet has been fresh cranberries.. made it taste like the holidays.. then baked them in small loaves & even mini muffin tins for gift giving.. nice addition to gifts from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gia Abramson
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gia Abramson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicago
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Da bomb"moist and tasty! Will make my
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I baked my sweet potatoes to keep all the sweetness. For the glaze I added cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by honeymoon
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This Recipe is Great!!! I followed the recipe as is with the exception of the orange glaze. I tweaked a lil and used the powdered sugar to sprinkle and added almond extract in place of Vanilla . Taste Great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeymoon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This cake is an old favorite of mine. Only had it as a kid around Christmas time. DELICIOUS! My family did not use the orange juice and orange rind though, they used rum in the batter and rum in the icing,and pecans. But I like this variation too! And there was a bakery nearby where I used to live that made this cake with pineapple. I miss that bakery that went out of business. They also made great sweet potato pies that tasted like they were made at home. Sweet memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Vegan substitutions of purred banana and olive oil for eggs and Crisco for Butter, the results were magnificent. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States