Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it the first time by following the recipe to a tee but using organic ingredients where possible and it was super although I did not have to cook mine near as long as directed. I then made it a second time with the following changes: I used only 1 cup of organic cane sugar instead of the 2 cups of white sugar. I used 1 Tbsp. madagascar vanilla instead of 1 teaspoon. I used 2 and 3/4 cups of King Arthur White-Wheat Flour. I also added 1/4 cup mayonnaise at the end. I baked this at 350 degrees for 1 hour. For the glaze I did the following 1 cup organic powdered sugar 1 Tbsp. soft amish butter 2 Tbsp. pineapple, coconut juice with no sugar added and 100% natural 1 Tbsp. grated orange zest It came out just as good with the reduced sugar and the pineapple/coconut glaze was really good. This is really a great cake with lots of opportunity for different flavors. Thanks for sharing Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freestyle66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yummy! made it in muffin pan, so they took a lot less time to cook. Also instead of using four eggs, I used two eggs, and two large table spoons of mayo, this made this super moist and delicious. Doubled the cinnamon. Gone before I could say enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe, Anne. I made this at the weekend and it was a perfect cake to take into work. Not too sweet, even with the glaze, easy to cut and pretty light. I made the following modifications based on previous reviewers: - half butter substituted for apple sauce - more spice with 1tsp mixed spice, 1/2 tsp ginger - baked for an hour I should have put the glaze on earlier, I waited 20 minutes before inverting and glazing, the cake wasn't warm enough to fully absorb the glaze. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm going to keep trying with this recipe, since I don't think the kind of flour I used (the first time) did it any favors (whole grain pastry flour). Also, the second cake I made with this recipe, I used AP flour, and I added 2 T cocoa, an extra tsp of cinnamon, a tsp of pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. It turned out MUCH better. I like the extra spice, and the cocoa adds a little something extra I like to the flavor. I think it's a recipe worth having. I'm not an expert with cakes (I'm more of a pie girl, really), but this is a keeper. Probably some cake flour would make a huge difference, and I intend to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent pound cake. I used a little different glaze just because I had some apricot brandy i wanted to use. Quite delicious. I only bake it for an hour. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very delicious! Followed the recipe the way it was written except I may have used a bit more sweet potatoe since I wanted to use up some left over baked ones I had. Made a very moist and delicious twist on a traditional pound canke. Know this one is a keeper since the husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Really good toasted, with butter. I used some brown sugar to replace white and wound up with something browner than the photo shown here. I backed off on the butter because the sweet potatoes I used were leftovers which were already sweetened and spiced somewhat. I added addition spices and some orange zest. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I can't believe I'm actually writing another review, but this was really good, per all the raves I got. I also did 1c. white, 1 c. brown sugar. I'm a little stingy when it comes to my real butter so I did use 1 stick butter,1 stick margerine. Bake according to what u know ur oven can do. My bundt only took 55-60 mins. Had to give quite a few saran wrapped slices away because it was toooooo dangerous to keep in the house.(Yes, that Good!) Very moist. Oh yeah, and I didn't use any glaze. This cake holds it's own. I'm already getting request for full cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heyvee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Loved the cake I cooked it for 1 hour and 10 min in my oven. I added more cinnamon, vanilla, and nutmeg to suit my taste. I also added a little ginger and a cap full of lemon extract. I omitted the glaze it really didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Absolutely beautiful. Seriously. Loved it!! So did my neighbour (she also wants to bottle the scent for an air freshener). Only changes I made was to bake in 2 loaf pans and I omitted the glaze. Fantastic!!!! Thanks for the recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Brasser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States