Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I liked the cake. It seemed to have a blander taste than I expected. Maybe I was thinking more on the lines of spice cake?? Anyway it was moist - good texture. My husband on the other hand hated it. Refused to even give it a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
WOW! Really, Really good. Everyone in the family loved it. I'll be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This will be the third time I have made this cake in three weeks. Everyone at my job and my family LOVE this cake. Orange glaze is really good, but I am going to try a Praline Pecan Glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Maybe it was me, but this cake did not turn out well. It was heavy and dry. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BUTTAFLYJ
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I've been making this recipe for the last two years and it's always a requested cake by many family and friends during the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays. I love that it's less ingredients than the traditional butter pound cake I always make...and it's lighter. My picky eater child even loves it. I've used both butter and margarine...didn't see or taste a difference. I usually add another tsp of vanilla too. And my gas oven cooks hot and fast so my cooking time is only 1 hour at 325 degrees. Any longer or hotter and it dries the cake out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I had made too many sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving and wanted to try something other than sweet potato pie. This is a great alternative. I just pulled it out of the oven and tasted it warm. It is so good! I think I'll make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I tried this yesterday and it was a hit! I took one of the other reviews advice and used cake flour. The cake was moist and just delicious! I replaced the orange juice in the glaze with a mango, peach orange juice blend to make the glaze more interesting. I also added the zest right to the glaze. What a great cake! It will now be a thanksgiving must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it the first time by following the recipe to a tee but using organic ingredients where possible and it was super although I did not have to cook mine near as long as directed. I then made it a second time with the following changes: I used only 1 cup of organic cane sugar instead of the 2 cups of white sugar. I used 1 Tbsp. madagascar vanilla instead of 1 teaspoon. I used 2 and 3/4 cups of King Arthur White-Wheat Flour. I also added 1/4 cup mayonnaise at the end. I baked this at 350 degrees for 1 hour. For the glaze I did the following 1 cup organic powdered sugar 1 Tbsp. soft amish butter 2 Tbsp. pineapple, coconut juice with no sugar added and 100% natural 1 Tbsp. grated orange zest It came out just as good with the reduced sugar and the pineapple/coconut glaze was really good. This is really a great cake with lots of opportunity for different flavors. Thanks for sharing Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freestyle66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yummy! made it in muffin pan, so they took a lot less time to cook. Also instead of using four eggs, I used two eggs, and two large table spoons of mayo, this made this super moist and delicious. Doubled the cinnamon. Gone before I could say enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States