Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Brice
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This cake was easy and delicious although I didn't add the drizzle, I did add 1/2 teaspoon of ginger. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made this cake for Thanksgiving. Turned out more like spice cake in looks and taste. The cake was light brown inside and a bit dry. Mine didn't look anything like the picture. It also cooked much faster than recommended time. I will not be keeping this recipe, I'm sorry to say even though I love sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this cake for my son's 1st birthday, and we all LOVED it. I frosted with a cream cheese frosting instead of the glaze - yum. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Young Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I followd the recipe, I just exchanged the all purpose flower for cake flower as some of the others suggested and the cake turned out great. This is the first cake I've EVER baked from scratch and my husband loved it. I didn't do the glaze, but next time I make it I think i will do a vanilla glaze, just for a little mor Sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Young Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious! My daughter, who does not like sweet potato, loved this cake. I served it with a maple glaze with chopped pecans...yum! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Came out beautiful! So tasty and moist, and sure it won't last either. I added ginger into the mix, it's just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This pound cake was delicious and moist, even in spite of my substitutions I made as I didn't have everything on hand. I only had one cup of mashed sweet potato, so I used mashed Yukon Gold potatoes for the other 1 c., and added a few shakes more cinnamon, scant 1/4 tsp. ginger, and 1/4 tsp. ground allspice to make up for the flavor. SOMEONE in my family ate my orange, so I used lemon juice for the glaze and kumquat peel for the zest (I have a tree in the back). The flavor was still delicious! The added spices were perfect: not overpowering but not underwhelming either. The glaze was also a fine compliment even when not orange flavored. 5 stars all the way, and I'm looking forward to making this when I have all ingredients on hand to see how it compares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastry_Perfection

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this cake and it was a BIG hit in my home. It was gone in less than 24 hours. I increased the sweet potato and butter by 1/2 cup, and added a teaspoon of allspice! Delicious! I am going to make this for my breakfast club at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My daughter begged me to make this cake again. Again I made the recipe as written...soooooo good, moist and no glaze needed. I will be making this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made it for Christmas and everyone loved it. It was really moist and orange glaze added great flavor. I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States