Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
awesome pound cake! I like extra spice, so I added 2 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1, and 1/4 tsp of ground cloves. I also added 3/4 cup of ground walnuts. I'm lazy so for the glaze I used dulce de leche from a jar. My husband and daughter loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKUNEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I took this cake to a Mother's Day get together yesterday and everyone loved it. I used canned sweet potatoes and cake flour as others suggested. I will definitely make this again. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was more of a regular cake than a pound cake texture. It was good - not great. Mine was just slightly overdone at 62 minutes. I should have taken it out sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Yummy. I halved the recipe. Used 1/2 c sugar & 1/2 c brown sugar. 1 t each of pumpkin pie spice & cinnamon. Baked it in a 9x13 for 30 mins at 350. So good will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I made this this evening and I'm still not sure what I think overall. Yes, it was light and fluffy, good texture, but the flavors were a tad too subtle for me. I think I was expecting a more powerful sweet potato taste and just didn't get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. Made it exactly as directed except I took it out at 1 hour and 10 minutes. At 1:20 it would have burned. It had a fine, velvety texture using the all-purpose flour called for. The flavor was subtle and really nice overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is so far the best pound cake I have ever baked the texture is so soft and fluffy...I made this cake for my family and they absolutely LOVED it. The orange zest on top of the pound cake added a great touch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gottaluvlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Very simple to make. A big hit, very moist and tasty. Cant wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great Cake!!!Everybody loved it I bakes 2 since Thanksgiving!!Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotstuffs22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Now when I saw the orange glaze, i knew i had to have cardamom in this recipe! I cut the cinnamon down to 1/4 tsp, nixed the nutmeg, and added 1 1/4 tsp ground cardamom (next time, I think I will add even more). I went with the cake flour suggestion as well as reducing the sugar to 1 1/4 cup (this is only if you don't enjoy really sweet cakes; i prefer enjoying the flavors of the spices and sweet potato).I also reduced just two tablespoons of confectioners sugar down with the orange zest and juice on the stove, and using a mixture of water, lemon juice and cornstarch to thicken it up to glaze consistency; it gives it a really nice tart flavor that compliments the cake very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States