Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I just made this and it is delicious, very moist and perfectly spiced! I did use cake flour, and added a tsp. Orange peel and a tsp orange extract to the batter. Left it unglazed, it doesnt really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Yummy and moist. I used 1/2 a/p & 1/2 whole wheat flour & added 1/2 tsp. of ginger. I also don't have a tube pan, so just divided it between 2 loaf pans & baked for 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I had to give the recipe a 4 as is. I really want to give it a five but just can't. I love the recipe and have made it countless times with cake flour and various glazes. Any descriptions that I have can't do it justice. It's a pleasant surprise to the people here in Savannah and we use sweet potatoes in just about everything on a regular basis. Today I couldn't find any cake flour in the pantry and decided to just follow the recipe as written minus a shorter cooking time(from past experiences with this cake). The AP flour resulted in a bread like texture that didn't really work. My normal baking time is 1hr 5mins but using the cake flour I should have cut it by another ten minutes. It's nice to follow recipes word for word but experience can also prevent you from losing time and money on something that didn't feel quite right. I don't think that I will ever do that again.I'm going to toss this one and just make the other version tomorrow. Once again, I have made this recipe a keeper...with edits of course. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This cake is delicious. I made it with left over sweet potatoes cooked in orange juice and it was very moist. I did not make the glaze but my co-workers didn't seem to mind. Everyone liked the cake. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This cake is INCREDIBLE. I used cake flour and added a little brown sugar to my mashed sweet potatoes. I also put chopped pecans in the bottom of the pan before adding the cake mix. I'm sure the orange glaze would've been great however I opted for a brown sugar glaze which was the perfect topping for this moist delicious cake. Even the batter is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was delicious and very easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very moist pound cake. I used cake flour and cut back the sugar to 1 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup granulated sugar. I made 3 loaves and 6 muffins out of this recipe. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tweeted this recipe by using cooked yams that I made and I add coconut..my husband and everyone loves my cake. Thank you for the recipe. For those who don't like this recipe, you did something wrong, this is an excellent sweet potato cake recipe...Kuddos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stellar Asia

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Simple, light, delicious! A little dry, but that might just be my baking time (I lost track and left it in for an extra 10 minutes). It doesn't have much cinnamon taste, and I did add an extra teaspoon, but I think that's totally up to you on how spiced up you want a pound cake to be. I think it was pretty much perfect to serve with ice cream and coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipes makes an AMAZING cake. I do not eat sweet potatoes, but my sister and boyfriend do. I made them both a cake using this recipe and they were in heaven. During the process of making it, it smelled SOOOO delicious I had to try it and I was amazed sweet potatoes could be so tantalizing as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States