Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This was a delicious recipe. I used the cake flour as recommended by other reviewers. I also did not need to bake it for the full 1 hr. 20 min. -- went about 55 minutes and it was well done. I will definitely make this again, perhaps bake for about 5 minutes less. Tastes like a spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Beautiful presentation for Thanksgiving. Nice fall colors, and the sweet potato adds an interesting flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Since I just learned how to use my kitchen, I am always looking for easy recipes for food days at work. THIS IS IT! I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh to save time. Friends and family all want this recipe. Take it from me, I currently have an icky mess in my kitchen that was supposed to be fudge. I will stick to this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I made this late on Thanksgiving Eve - discovered after I mixed it all up that I didn't have a tube pan so I had to use an old bundt pan. I also tried to pop it out of the pan too soon after it came out of the oven. It broke in half but it still tasted delicious. Our family was pleasantly surprised to have yet another dessert option on Thanksgiving. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this for a ladies luncheon. While I enjoyed it immensely and thought it was great, not one of the ladies asked for the recipe, which is highly unusual for them. Instead of the glaze, I frosted it with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting from this website, and it was very attractive. I found that the cake only needed to bake 1 hour and 5 minutes in my oven. Good thing I checked it then instead of letting it bake the entire hour and 20 minutes or I would have had a burnt cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
The cake was very good, my suggestion is; when mashing the sweet potatoes include a can of cream of coconut(goya)and orange juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Since my husband loves sweet potatoes and I wanted to make him something to take to work for a morning break snack, this fit the bill perfectly. It came out moist and tasty. Kinda reminds me of pumpkin bread. I skipped the glaze and my husband said it would taste good with whipped cream. I also baked fresh sweet potatoes instead of canned, and sifted my all purpose flour twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This cake was not as good as I thought it would be. I have other pound cake recipes I like better. I thought it would taste more like pumpkin pie than it does. My husband, however, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
My only recommendation, is to use a baking stone to keep this cake moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is a terrific cake. I made it with vanilla confectioner's icing and it came out great! And as mentioned before, it does make your kitchen smell fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States