Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This cake was dry and not very tasty. I was embarrassed when everyone tried it at the luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGERLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I give this cake five stars because my whole family loves it, but I thought it was heavy and dense. I think my mistake was my sweet potatoes were warm when I added them to my fluffy butter and sugar and the butter melted and was very runny until I added the flour. Maybe I will try the canned kind next. The cake was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Excellent recipe! I used fresh sweet potatoes and seasoned them with cinnamon,brown sugar, and nutmeg before I added them to the mix. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This is one of the best pound cakes I've ever tasted or made. Used 2 1/2 cups of mashed canned sweet potatoes (1 40oz can) and sweetened it with a little brown sugar, extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Used a pineapple glaze instead of orange. A delicious soft, moist masterpiece. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This cake was just ok. There are many other pound cakes I would make before I would bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This was a delicious recipe. I used the cake flour as recommended by other reviewers. I also did not need to bake it for the full 1 hr. 20 min. -- went about 55 minutes and it was well done. I will definitely make this again, perhaps bake for about 5 minutes less. Tastes like a spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Beautiful presentation for Thanksgiving. Nice fall colors, and the sweet potato adds an interesting flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Since I just learned how to use my kitchen, I am always looking for easy recipes for food days at work. THIS IS IT! I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh to save time. Friends and family all want this recipe. Take it from me, I currently have an icky mess in my kitchen that was supposed to be fudge. I will stick to this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I made this late on Thanksgiving Eve - discovered after I mixed it all up that I didn't have a tube pan so I had to use an old bundt pan. I also tried to pop it out of the pan too soon after it came out of the oven. It broke in half but it still tasted delicious. Our family was pleasantly surprised to have yet another dessert option on Thanksgiving. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this for a ladies luncheon. While I enjoyed it immensely and thought it was great, not one of the ladies asked for the recipe, which is highly unusual for them. Instead of the glaze, I frosted it with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting from this website, and it was very attractive. I found that the cake only needed to bake 1 hour and 5 minutes in my oven. Good thing I checked it then instead of letting it bake the entire hour and 20 minutes or I would have had a burnt cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States