Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I have to say I had my doubts. I'm not a fan of the sweet potato. But this is by far the best cake I've ever made. REALLY easy to make, and delicious!! My husband loves this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Use applesauce or prune puree instead of butter/oil to make this more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Kimathi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
The only way I like sweet potatoes. Here are my suggestions for a different cake: add dried cranberries (about 1/2 cup) and 1 tsp. grated orange rind. No better just different. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was ok. The spices were very nice but it seemed like it was missing something. Needs some experementing, but the potential is there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I made this for my daughter's first birthday party, and it turned out great! I made it exactly as directed, using canned sweet potatoes and baking it in a bundt pan for 1 hour. Whoever said to bake it for longer than an hour must have had an oven that wasn't working right, an hour was plenty! It turned out great, and tasted fantastic, everyone loved it, even the birthday girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
A previous review suggested cooking only 60 min, but my cake was slightly over done by that time. The result was a dry cake that was tasty but required lots of water to wash it down. I prefer a much more dense pound cake, but this was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I would give this one 10 stars if I could! This is SOOOOO good. I made this for my husband for Father's Day. He said it was one of the best, if not THE best pound cakes he has ever had! This is a HUGE compliment because his mom has made fantastic pound cakes his whole life. I am a novice at pound cakes and it turned out so yummy! I microwaved the sweet potatoes (it took 3 med/large ones). I added them hot which melted the butter. If this happens to you, decrease the cooking time by 20-25 minutes. (I will make it every time this way! It cuts the prep./cooking time substantially.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This cake is so delicious. Everyone I gave a slice to wanted the recipe too! The next time I make it I'm going to add some roasted pecans to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
We exhanged one cup of wheat for one cup of the white, and doubled cinnamon, added some pumpkin pie spice. Had it with whipped topping. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Loved this cake!! My family is a big fan of sweet potato pie so I was a little skeptical at first but I couldn't have been more pleased with the result. I did as others suggested and only baked the cake for about 1 hour. Other than that, a really excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States