Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. Some of the people who tried it, really liked it but I was not impressed. I just made it again using cake flour as suggested by some other posters. I also added 1/2 tsp. of allspice as I do when I make a sweet potato pie. The result was fabulous. The cake seems lighter and the allspice added a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Everyone loved this pound cake, and since I am from a farming family, it made it all sweeter! My husband suggested a cream cheees icing, but other than that, I'd not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This cake is so good. I changed the recipe a little and added a cup of chopped walnuts to it. Tastes so good when served warm with a little apple butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
What a lovely cake. My daughter had to find recipe for school and this was one we choice for her to make, she got very good marks for it too! A lovely moist cake, the only change I made was to use self raising flour instead of plain. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I went with most people and used cake flour. I didn't have a bundt pan so I used a rectangle pan and filled it half way. It was so good and not heavy at all. I would make this again. I also tried a muffin version but I didn't think they were as good. I also used canned sweet potatoes with about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. This was a great receipe. Laura H, WI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This cake was amazing...I am not usually the biggest fan of pund cakes, but now I have definitely changed my mind. I had it in the oven for no more than an hour. More than that would have made it dry. I also used cake flour. It was perfectly moist. I made double the amount of orange icing and mixed the zest in with it as well to give it extra flavor. While the cake was still hot I poked a few holes in the top with a fork and poured on half of the icing. This made the orange flavor sink into the cake.... DELICIOUS! After the cake cooled I topped it off with the rest of the icing. A great way to use up left over sweet potato caserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
this cake was brilliant!!!just have to ensure the heat is slightly lower cause mine was slightly burnt. BUt nevertheless, it was GREAT!!! you dont necessary have to use fresh sweet potato, overnight or left over ones will do too, i used overnight fried sweet potato and it still turned out brilliant!!! Thx!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. My family is not fond of sweet potatoes so when I found myself stuck with some I went looking for a recipe to use them in. The batter for this cake is light like marshmallow fluff and the end result is light and springy. Also, this cake is not too sweet which works great for my hubby who is not a sweet tooth. The only change I made was adding a tsp of ginger to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but the cake turned out a little on the heavy side. I also found that the glaze was great with the orange juice and zest, but it was a little too sweet for my taste. I think if I make this again I will try using maybe a cream cheese frosting and incorporate the orange juice and zest that way. All in all, it's a good cake, I was just a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarkston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This cake was fantastic!! Made it just as directed and it turned out moist, dense, and very filling. my hisband and my daughter HATE sweet potatoes, so i simply chose not to tell them it was sweet potato cake. It was gone before dinner was done. Great fresh out of the oven with fresh butter. The only thing I'll do next time is add a little more cinnamon and nutmeg, maybe omit those all together and use pumpkin pie spice. Otherwise no changes! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hjelmberg Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States