Sweet Potato Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is pretty tasty. I didn't use the glaze because I didn't feel the need to add more sugar to a perfectly sweet cake. Next time I'll add a little orange zest to the cake if I omit the glaze. It was moist and had a delicate crumb. The light spice flavor is perfect with a dollop of homemade whipped cream on top. You can also bake it in two 8.5" x 4.5" loaf pans for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is the best pound cake I have ever eaten or made. I work for the military, and make it all the time for different occasions. Plus it is a request from them. Recently I bought small angel food cake pans, 6 pans all together, now we call them Sweet potato baby cakes. It is moist and wonderfully tasty. I use Bruce's sweet potatoes on this recipe, because we do not use fresh sweet potatoes at home. So whomever tried this and it did not come out good, should try the canned....excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a great, moist cake that tasted just like a pumpkin pound cake! I used canned sweet potatoes, but will try fresh baked next time! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. The cake had a great texture and the recipe was easy to follow. For our tastes, I believe I will add more spices next time. We live in New Zealand, so I also used kumaras (a type of white coloured sweet potato grown in New Zealand) instead of the orangy sweet potatoes found in the United States. The kumara tasted fine, but I have a feeling that the orange sweet potato is probably a better choice. Still, the cake was delicious, and I will make it again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I had never made cakes with sweet potatoes and was curious about this pound cake. Wonderful texture and an unusual taste (pleasant). A keeper. While the cake was still warm I glazed with maple syrup. I also made a quick bread I'll post soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made these as muffin/cupcakes and the kids loved 'em! At least it has SOMETHING healthy in it, right? Took about 40 minutes in the oven and made 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It was pretty good. Not a real rave whith the family, but that could have been my fault. I'm working on my baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This cake was a big hit with my entire family. I did use 2 1/2 cups of sweet potato and mine turned out looking a different color but was completely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephna!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Just made this one a few hours ago as one of our Christmas desserts. It's wonderful. I modified the recipe just slightly by substituting 1/2 cup brown sugar for part of the white sugar. Also, instead of the orange glaze, I made a maple brown sugar glaze using butter, brown sugar, maple syrup, and half n' half (to smooth it out). Both my husband and I have tasted a small slice and it's incredible. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I just made this for our Thanksgiving meal...Oh my goodness this was the best dessert by far! I did modify the recipe a bit but I think as written it would have been great anyway....Instead of the full amount of white sugar I used half white and half brown sugar...I did add a bit more vanilla, just for personal taste...After reading the reviews I came across someone saying they used a brown sugar glaze over it...I couldn't find a recipe for brown sugar glaze, so I made something up. I melted a stick of butter added some brown sugar (just eyeballed it) and a shot of vanilla extract...I baked the cake in a springform pan, and let it rest for a few minutes. I put it on a cake platter poked several holes in it with a wooden skewer and poured the glaze over the cake...The outcome? The most moist wonderful light cake I have ever had!!! Great recipe, this is a keeper and will be on my families table every holiday! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States