Sweet Potato Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This came out really, really well . Very pretty, and everyone commented. However, with all these cold, mayonnaise-based salads, I always cut the mayo in half and use a light sour cream for the other. To me, it makes it creamier and a lot healthier without sacraficing taste. Everyone appreciates it, too. With the added mustard, it is really perfect. I salt (everything) very lightly and sprinkled a really good layer of pepper over the potatoes. Also, I used only half the eggs. The celery adds a welcome crunch. Make a big batch so you can enjoy it for a few days! Thanks Dee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This is a great potato salad! The only substitution I made was green onion - my kids hate biting into bits of raw, hard onion, so chopped green onions always work nicely for me. The sweet potatoes added such a nice touch, and my husband, who thinks he hates sweet potato, thought they were carrots and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This was definitely different but very good. I think next time I will use 2 sweet potatoes and 1 white potato for a little more of the sweet potato flavor. I loved the different colors of the salad - very appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I didn't have any eggs on hand & this salad was still great - with eggs I'm sure even better! I found it easier to largely cube the potatoes before boiling, then they only needed twenty minutes cooking time & were all set to toss in the mayo mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This potato salad is awesome!!! I made it with red onions which made it a little strong, so next time I'd use a milder onion. It's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
Very tasty! I decided to do 1/2 regular mustard and 1/2 dijon mustard... added a little zip that I would definitely recommend trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe. I think the sweet potatos come out best if you steam them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
I didn't care for the sweet potato in this salad, but the rest was okay. I've had other sweet potato salads that I liked, so I think I just didn't care for the combination of two potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Delicious! I omitted the celery because I don't like it and it tasted wonderful. I'm going to try making tofu mayonnaise sometime just for this recipe. Then it'll be truly healthy and hopefully delicious with all the other strong flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Tastes a lot nicer than it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States