Sweet Potato Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good dish. I took the advice of some other reviews and added red pepper and apple and substituted in green onions. I also added curry powder to the mayonaise dressing. Variations are endless. Good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
yummy! It was very different and it was a hit! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Suprisingly good! I did add just a small amount of chopped yellow and orange bell peppers. I also added some parsley at the end. It was very delicious! I never mixed sweet and regular potatos before -but will definitely make again! I doubled it to serve 6 people and it was all gone! Served it with roasted turkey breast and green beans. Paired well! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
We really enjoyed this potato salad recipe. I used celery seasoning in place of celery and while it tasted good it was missing the crunch so I added chopped apple as a previous reviewer stated and it worked wonderfully. So I would imagine the recipe as stated would be good too. Oh, I did only use two eggs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Really good My family enjoyed I used 2 eggs as suggested by other reviews seasoned to taste with 1/2 tbsp sugar and couple dases of salt and pepper and use 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayo simply fantastic.:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I really enjoyed this salad, but my favorite part was actually an addition that I made because of what I had in my fridge. I boiled 2 red potatoes and 1/2 of a large sweet potato for 30 minutes. After 15 minutes, I placed 3 eggs in the pot to boil with the potatoes for the final 12-15 min. Next time I will wait until the potatoes have been cooking for 20 minutes because I felt the eggs were a little bit overcooked. When the potatoes and eggs were finished I drained them and set them aside to cool. During that time, I chopped up 2 stalks of celery and an apple (I did not have an onion but wanted to add something for flavor). I then chopped up the potatoes and eggs and mixed them with the veggies. I combined the mixture with 1/4 cup mustard (I looove mustard) and 3/4 cup light mayo. I seasoned to taste and let cool. The apple added SO much to the salad. Thanks for the start of something delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Really different and tasty. Was better the first day. After that it tasted drier and needed more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb54

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I also put 2 eggs instead. I add half of a red pepper (sweet one) and one green onion that I though added more taste and color. It is good to redo it for a party but it's not the kind of salad you eat for lunch as if you take a small portion it's really good but if you eat too much it get too much, heavy like any potato salad. Next time I will use 1.5 of white and sweat potato as I like the taste of both equally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
me & my bf didn't like it at all...this was my first SWEET potato salad i wanted to make. Usually i have my recipes for regular potato salads (a couple of them). I even REREAD to make sure i put right amounts for the right ingredients, etc, etc...i didn't make any mistakes but it turned out bad...we DID eat some for the dinner...i still can't believe how it turned out...i always choose the recipes which has 4 to 5 rating, and also the recipes with the familiar ingredients..i don't get it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Delish! My husband doesn't like potato salad, but he gobbled this one up! I made a few changes that I would recommend: I used ONLY sweet potatoes, added a chopped apple (left the skin on all...it's good for you!), cut down on the mayo, added a bit more mustard and a couple heaping spoonfulls of sweet relish. very good, will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States