Sweet Potato Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was my first time making potato salad and I didn't have sweet potatoes so I used butternut squash. It was alright but that's about all. It was easy which was nice for my first time but there isn't much depth of flavor. It was missing something.. Not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This salad has been my "go to" staple for summer events and it is always a bit hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Her Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Five stars. Didn't have any onions in the house, so used onion powder. Lots of it. Overcooked the sweet potatoes, but that worked great because they absorbed the ingredients more fully. I used a tad more American mustard than called for. Left out the celery. Used five eggs and 3 or 4 regular potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Yamada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Since potato salad isn't one of my top 10 favorites, I was looking for a change to the standard. This is a good recipe and I agree with others who mentioned that it could use more flavor. I used only sweet potatoes. I peeled and cubed them before cooking so cooking time was only about 10 minutes (even with a larger cut I think 30 minutes would give you mush), plus I cooked them in chicken broth instead of water. Immediately after draining I spread them on a cookie sheet, and drizzled with a mixture of 2 Tbsp mustard and 2 Tbsp cider vinegar. I tossed the potatoes in this (The hot potatoes soak up a great deal of flavor this way) and then refrigerated them for about 30 minutes. Then I added them to the celery, egg and onion (I used a medium sized Vidalia and used the whole thing). I used half mayo and half sour cream and cut the mayo mixture with some milk to make it thinner. Even with the flavorful potatoes and the whole onion, it is still pretty bland. Next time I think I'll go with a stronger onion and maybe consider a Dijon mustard or one with horseradish. It's a good start but not quite a 5 star for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I used horseradish mustard instead of regular mustard, and added a little paprika. This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used only one sweet potato for, one serving added fennel instead of celery. Also add rosemary for taste I used a Jack Daniels south western mustard and two eggs one chopped one sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
YUM! I think 3 eggs is plenty, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it is quite good. We really enjoyed the sweet potato -- it wasn't at all weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great potato salad! It's getting me in the mood for summer. I wonder if the amounts of pepper and salt are errors, though. You only need 1/2 t salt and 1/4 t pepper, otherwise it overwhelms the dish (especially the pepper). I used Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard and it was soooo yummy. I'm saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good! Like the apple to add crispness and light dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Needs more flavor. Kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States