Sweet Potato Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly as it was written. But I added the mayo according to taste, and the salt, I sprinkled just a little, so it wouldn't have too much salt. It ended up tasting delicious, and my husband and I could have finished the whole bowl! The only thing I will change next time, is to add more salt, and to chop the celery more fine. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Absolutely loved this! Next time my husband wants me to use just sweet potatoes. It was very refreshing. What a great idea- I never would have thought to use sweet potatoes in potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nita
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is a good twist to plain old potato salad. I love the added nutrition with the sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Delicious. I'm a big fan of straight-up potato salad, and I love this version with sweet potatoes. The contrasting flavors and textures of perfect potatoes really come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Like several other reviewers suggested I used 2 sweet potatoes and green onion. I actually found it made the salad a bit too sweet. If I make this again I'll use less mayo and maybe a smidge of wine or white vinegar. The best part of this salad, though, is how pretty it looked with the surprising colours. Looks very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
One word: Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this to go with a BBQ rib dinner. I used a sweet potato from Mississippi,to my surprise it had very little orange color but was very sweet.It was also much smaller than a normal sweet potato.I cubed the potatoes to the size I wanted cooked and cooled them. and mixed it with the dressing. My only addition was some diced fresh red peppers. I will make this again but found the dressing a bit thin and will cut back on the mayonnaise. I also used a Cajun seasoned salt to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
it was pretty good, but nothing i would rave about...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hanna ruin
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a really great recipe. We used the small red potatoes with the skin on and added black olives to give it more color and flavor. Also added a tsp of white vinegar and a tsp of lemon pepper to give it a little extra kick. The sweet potatoes give a sweet twist to traditional potato salad. Went really well with our 4th of July bbq dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanna ruin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I found this recipe to be a nice change to your average potato salad. The sweet potato gave it a nice added flavor. I used a touch of apple cidar vinegar and next time I will use the sour cream to cut the calories down, like other users did. Thanks for a great recipe! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States