Sweet Potato Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delish indeed! I get compliments every time I serve this and it is a staple at our holiday gatherings. The only reason I'm not rating 5 stars is that it needs a topping in my opinion. I use whatever casserole dish(s) fit the finished product since sweet potatoes vary so greatly in size. The ingredient portions are perfect for smaller - medium sweet potatoes but for larger ones, I'd suggest increasing the pineapple, brown sugar and butter a bit. For holidays, we make one dish with the pecan, brown sugar, flour, butter topping suggested by other reviewers and top another with marshmallows for the younger crowd. I also heat the pineapple, brown sugar and butter in a skillet before mixing with the sweet potatoes but my husband makes it as indicated in the recipe. Either way, we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I did it exactly as written and it was awsome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
My favorite way to do sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Excellent. Everyone-- kids and adults-- loved it. Consider doubling the recipe, as it re-heats well for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
all I have to say is WONDERFUL. I topped it with marshmellows though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZeeMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love this recipe! I add an 8 oz can of pineapple and omit adding brown sugar. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkaye777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is excellent. I followed the ingredient list exactly, except that I added about an extra half cup crushed pineapple to use up what I had. I agree with other users about the pan size - the listed size is too big unless you double the recipe (which I did!) Let me add that there is a simpler way to make this. I am pretty lazy about prep and cleanup, so I decided to just bake the sweet potatoes on a foil lined cookie sheet in the oven until very soft. Cut them in half and spoon out the insides. Why peel, boil, chop?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This went over very well in my house. I did make a few alterations however. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg, omitted the sugar and added some pineapple juice from concentrate, and i used a 9x9 baking dish. I was afraid the pineapple flavor would be too over powering but it turned out better than I could have hoped for. I paired this with the Hawaiian Fish with Pineapple found on this website and my family ate it all up. And the leftovers were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Don't save this dish for Thanksgiving, it is great all year round, but especially all during fall and early winter. My family loves this dish, including my 4 year old daughter and my very picky husband. I recommend baking the potatoes first, instead of boiling. baking brings out the natural sugars in the potato, and then you can cut the brown sugar back a bit if you like. Oh, I also add more pineapple, about 3/4 cup, and a pinch of cinnamon or even pumpkin pie spice if it's for a holiday meal. Yummy any way you make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is a good dish. I was expecting a little more flavor, though, but it is better the second day. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added a topping of ½ cup brown sugar, ½ cup flour, 1/3 cup melted margarine, ¾ cup chopped pecans, and pineapple rings. Without the topping, I think it would have been less than exciting. For the main dish, I used 5 sweet potatoes, 1c crushed pineapple, 1/4c brown sugar and 3 tbsp margarine. I was afraid of making the dish too sweet, but I probably should have increased the brown sugar to go with the extra potatoes and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States