Sweet Potato Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I cut my sweet potatoes into bite size pieces, boiled until nearly tender, drained them, and layered them in a 9x9 pan. I mixed together one cup of pineapple and the 1/4 cup of brown sugar and poured it over the potatoes. I put little dabs of butter on top, but not nearly 3 tablespoons. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was wonderful. I took the advise of others and increased the amount of pineapple... however, I think I may keep it at a half cup next time. Also I think that a splash of spiced rum may be good idea! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was the hit of our Thanksgiving meal! Wow. This will be on our table often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Just finished Thanksgiving dinner, and the family flipped for this! Thanks for a great recipe! I boiled the potatoes after peeling and chunking, then drained. I didn't have pineapple tidbits so I chopped up half a can of rings and mixed it in with the chunks. Left it in the fridge over night and made the topping suggested in earlier review, and also added the last 5 pineapple rings for a pretty topping. Since we had mashed potatoes it was nice to have the sweet potatoes in chunks. I highly suggest you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I was slightly hesitant about this wondering how the pairing of pineapple and sweet potato would taste, but thought it turned out excellent! I was tired of seeing recipes for sweet potato casseroles that really packed the calories with sugar, syrup, marshmallows, etc. Sweet potatoes are naturally sweet and I wanted something that would bring out that flavor while staying healthy since this is one of the best veggies for you! This recipe did it for me. I can't wait to make for my family on Thanksgiving! This could even pass as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I might prefer to double the recipe for a 9x13 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was easy to make and my family did eat it, but personally I think the sweet potatoes with the brown sugar sauce and marshmallows on top is way way better. So if you like that a lot, you might be a little disappointed with this. I thought this needed a little more of something, not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The addition of maraschino cherries adds something special to this wonderful dish! Perfect for holiday dinners, but my husband and I cheat and eat it throughout the year ... Shh! Thanks Delora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emelye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very yummy, got some good reviews but some preferred traditional sweet potato casserole over this. Definitely recommend adding the crunchy topping and pineapple rings suggested by another reviewer to add to taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was not a hit at all at the Thanksgiving dinner I took this too. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States